We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Madison Monona Terrace to your Saves list
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Green Bay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We were in town for a wedding and had the added benefit of the Art Fair. What a fabulous location! From our tenth floor room we had a lovely view of the Monona Terrace and Lake with views of the Capital from the front of the hotel. Everything is within walking distance.
The room was clean and well appointed. The staff was extremely accommodating. The pool is small but we enjoyed it and the hot tub a number of times. There is a nice exercise room as well with personal TV monitors on each treadmill.
I can't imagine a nicer hotel in Madison and the price was quite reasonable!

  • Liked — Comfortable beds and pillows
  • Disliked — small pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    177
    74
    27
    18
See reviews for
129
136
37
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

I really enjoyed everything about the Hilton.

I was in Madison for a wedding, which was why I chose this and the bride made a great choice. My room had an excellent view, was very clean and had all the expected amenities. The bell staff and front desk were very friendly and housekeeping kindly returned to clean my room when their normal rounds conflicted with my wedding prep.

The location was perfect, I was able to walk to many areas and it was practically next door to the capitol building and farmers market. The adjoining Monona Terrace Rooftop Garden gave us great views of the 4th Fireworks.

Both breakfast and cocktails at Olives were more than adequate.

My only very nitpicky issue with my room was the doorhandles and the apparent retro fitting of the bathroom. The closet and bathroom doors were the kind you see in hospitals and institutions, not upscale hotels. And they turned the shower rod into one of those bowed out kind that don't stick to you during the shower, which was great, except it got in the way of opening the door fully.

  • Liked — great location
  • Disliked — chincy doors
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

we were in madison june 12-15 for a conference. unfortunately we were unable to get the business rate for all nights at the hilton and made a reservation at the double tree for the first night in madison. what a mistake. the former hojo was shabby and we were relieved to check out the next morning to the better hilton half... even though we did run into a small problem upon our check in at the hilton. we were checked in and given our room keys, with no mention that the room was for two double beds and not a king bed that we had reserved. i called the front desk and was told that we did not have a king reserved and there were no rooms available. when i mentioned that i had our email confirmation for a room with a king bed, a room then became available (?). it was pretty aggravating and the big dummy who checked us in did not offer an apology for the inconvenience when we went back down for the new keys. but after our bumpy check-in the rest of our stay was very nice. what a difference from the double tree! the bartender at the hilton was very friendly and poor guy listened as i vented about our disappointment at the doubletree and how even the cc cookie didn't make up for it. later that day, after a night out and stopping by the bar for a night cap, he greeted us with two warm cc cookies. i got a great laugh and thought it was such a sweet gesture. another plus with the bar area, there was a pianist playing some good tunes and adding to the ambiance. our room was very nice, tastefully decorated, with a spectacular view overlooking monona terrace and monona lake. another reviewer mentioned the loud ac unit; they weren't lying about that, but it kept us cool and didn't interfere with our sleep, so we were ok with the noise. monona terrace, inspired by frank lloyd wright, was stunning and great place for a convention center. the conference we attended was held at the terrace. we made good use of the skywalk linking the two buildings together; we were grateful for it actually because of the heavy rain while we were in madison. the location of the hotel was very convenient in downtown. looking down martin luther king jr blvd was a picture perfect view of the capitol building. we discovered many fantastic restaurants all in walking distance of the hotel- l'etoile, harvest, great dane, magnus restaurant, ocean grill, etc. i had heard that madison is foodie heaven; it definitely was. loved the use of local ingredients. one thing i must mention, and wish that i had snapped a photo of, was the pool/jacuzzi area next to the fitness room. to put it nicely, it was pretty cozy. a father and son were swimming in the pool and not wanting to cramp them, we decided to relax in the jacuzzi instead. overall though we were very satisfied with our stay and if we were to return to madison again this would be our first choice.

  • Liked — incredible view from our room
  • Disliked — cozy pool/jacuzzi area
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

My feeling is that if you work in a service industry, and you do not like it, you should find another job rather than inflicting your unhappiness on people who are paying hard earned money to have a little fun, relaxation or service. It is also the responsibility of hotel management to see that their employees are polite, respectful and friendly to the customers. This is not too much to ask,except perhaps at the Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. I stayed here a few years ago and liked the surroundings, and the room, but was put off by the condescending attitude of the staff and the extremely poor service at the restaurant. Things are not much better today.
Some of the bar staff are very nice and helpful. Others are not. One actually rolled his eyes and sighed when I asked him what he would recommend. The staff at the desk are not much better when asked simple questions. Some of the staff here demonstrate that it is not only people from the East Coast that are nasty, rude and curt for no reason. And apparently the management does not care.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed here for three nights in early April with our two young daughters and my in-laws. Excellent location - we were able to walk a lot. We didn't request (or pay extra for) lake view rooms, but we got them anyway. The views were really great. The rooms were very clean. Our room had two double beds (one of which was a little saggy in the middle) and was a deluxe room, so we had an extra sitting area, the bottled water was free, and we had free continental breakfast on the 14th floor (supposed to be available only to those in deluxe rooms, but nobody ever checked). The breakfast was okay, and great to have with small children: cold cereal, scrambled eggs and hash browns, toast and pastries, fresh fruit, cold meat and cheese, coffee, and juice. We used the pool a few times: very small, at its deepest only 3.5 feet, but clean and well-maintained. Nice hot tub as well. Never saw another person in the pool, hot tub, or adjacent exercise room. The exercise room was a bit better than the standard hotel exercise room. Nice treadmills with attached TVs, but an even better bet is the trail around Lake Monona (12 miles around). Room service food was good, especially dinner. Self-parking was $12 a day, but cheaper ramps are a block away. Check your bill - we were charged for parking for days we parked elsewhere. Don't rely on front desk workers for directions or tourist info - although very friendly, we got bad info a few times. Ultimately, not a perfect stay, but with great location and clean, large rooms, we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed here the weekend of my husband's birthday in one of the large corner rooms on the 9th floor. When I made the reservation and mentioned it was a birthday celebration, the staffer said she'd try to get us something special, and she certainly did. Our spacious room had a view of the capitol out one window and and a lake view out the other. It was comfortabe and cozy--the bed was great, the shower was remarkable, and complimentary breakfast the next day was superb. Friendly, attentive staff and a gorgeous lobby. We will now stay here every time we come to Madison.

  • Liked — the comfort
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

I stayed at the Hilton Monona Terrace for New Years Eve. The location is great. Within walking distance to almost anything in the downtown/capitol/campus area. The rooms are very nice and the beds are so comfy. Good size bathroom too. I had a beautiful view of the lake from my room. We had flurries New Years day and it looked like I was in a snowglobe. They have two seperate bars down in the lobby. Shuttle service to where ever you need to go. Parking is in a covered garage as well. Great place to stay!!

  • Liked — location and beds
  • Disliked — only one car per room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the newly renovated Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Conveniently located in downtown Madison along the UW Campus, this elegant property is connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. Recent upgrades provide an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces. Check out the new carpeting, in-room safes, mahogany furnishings and multi-charging stations for in-room connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.