We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, less desirable food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Madison Monona Terrace to your Saves list
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Murfreesboro, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good hotel, less desirable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location is unbeatable and hotel room is very clean. Being pet friendly is also great. Parking lacks space for our trailer so we had to park in another hotel parking lot that's connected to Hilton. It was a pain for our family to get stuff from the car back and forth, considering having a toddler and two cats. It's nice to be able to dine in at the hotel restaurant but menu is too limited -- almost all meat and dairy -- typical dull, unhealthy food. But it's Wisconsin, anyway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Zhen,

Thank you for the time you took to write the review! Parking definitely can be difficult downtown for bigger vehicles or tow behinds, I'm glad we were able to provide you an option that worked, but I'm sorry it wasn't very convenient.

We are continually developing and changing our menus. I appreciate the feedback and may reach out to you for additional ideas of what you would like to see. It's our only goal to give our guests a great experience in our Food and Beverage outlets and a big part of that is providing you appealling options!

Thank you again for the review!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    177
    74
    27
    18
See reviews for
129
136
37
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

stayed here one night for business, view from room was very nice. check-in took longer than expected, door did not close properly in bathroom due to warping, and incidental charge (rather large) on bill for several days, never had that before.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for the review! I had my Director of Operations looking into the incidental charge to figure out what happened. I can assure you that if the issue is on our end we will fix it immediately and contact you! My apologies!!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Monona Terrace in Madison in mid-June for a wedding. The location is great and the hotel is very nice as Madison hotels go. The staff was very good and we really did not have any problems. Parking is very convenient. Check-in and out was a breeze. The room was well-appointed with a nice view of the lake beyond the convention center and everything worked. The bed was comfortable. The shower could maybe have used some updating, but worked well. I did think it was a bit expensive for this area, but, overall, I thought it was a very nice, albeit unremarkable, property.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Appreciate the review! I'm glad that everything you encountered was to your satisfaction. We are in the process of regrouting and caulking all of the tubs. And I hope next time we can make your stay remarkable through our service! :)

Thanks again,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was very pleased with the registration process. We were in our room immediately and it was clean and ready for occupancy. We went to the bar and were served immediately with our choices. The drinks and food was very good. The staff was knowledgeable of their asssignments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Michael,

Thanks for the comments. It's sounds like you received efficient service and that is definitely part of the goal! We know that all of our guests came here to Madison for a reason and we want to make our part as easy and helpful for you as we can!

We look forward to the opportunity to do it again on your next visit!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

All staff members friendly and helpful. The Chop House is great for lunch and dinner. The Chop Salad is one of the best salads I have ever had, is available in both restaurants. Olives Restaurant is average, a little pricey for breakfast. AC unit in our room was very noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Ivy,

Thank you for the nice comment about the staff! And I agree with you about the Chop salad, I recently had some of my own family here and they said the same thing! As far as the loud AC units I am aware that we still have some units that are in need of replacement and those replacements are on the way! Thank you again for the review and I look forward to seeing you next time!

Best wishes,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I actually stayed here a year ago for three months. I didn't think it could get better. I arrived and Nick met me for the valet he was great. I had brought my dog Bluto again and Mark immediatley brought him water after our long ride and was there for rides to get things that I forgot. From curb side to the room this staff is hands down the best. My favorite stop is the Olive Lounge. You have to go when Kimberly, Logan and Sherrilee are working because they are very nice and will go out of your way to make you feel like its a neighborhood hang out. They would bring my dog carrots everytime we got off of the elevator. The most impressive thing is that the manager Dave made me feel as in important guest. I found out that the hotel had 12 weddings when I stayed there and still felt like a VIP. The rooms and lake view are great. Thank you all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Matt,

I can't thank you enough for the impact you had on my team as well! I spoke to several people when I read this review and they all enjoyed their interactions with you as well. Thank you for naming so many people specifically. It is a great group of people here and it is absolutely our honor to have you AND Bluto here!

Best wishes,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Last time I was in Madison I stayed at the Doubletree (closer to the University) and loved that spot. However, I decided to mix it up and stay at the Hilton the next time I was in town for work. I usually arrive early evening and have time for a quick run and dinner. Both locations give tons of options for that. However, if I had to choose, I'd pick the Hilton location over the Doubletree (although I enjoyed both and they are pretty close together). The Hilton upgraded my room to a high floor corner and the view was amazing - tons of windows with a capital view from one side and the lake view from the other. Also, walking over to Monona Terrace was nice as well. I had never been there, but it was a fun atmosphere with lots of folks out enjoying the evening and enjoying the sunset. I'll definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a corner room if possible! Tons of windows and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review! Agreed on the views, it is tough to get a bad view with the downtown and the Capitol on one side and Lake Monona on the other! During the summer the Monona Terrace patio is a great place to hang out. They often have live music there as well! Hope you join us next time you come back!!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the newly renovated Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Conveniently located in downtown Madison along the UW Campus, this elegant property is connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. Recent upgrades provide an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces. Check out the new carpeting, in-room safes, mahogany furnishings and multi-charging stations for in-room connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.