We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Save Saved
You added Hilton Madison Monona Terrace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Le Roy, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a great location, close to food, walgreens, the capitol, state street, etc. Staff were wonderful! I stayed here on business for 2 weeks in December and a week in October. The hotel is hard to get booked at the rate I'm authorized for, and could be slightly out of some traveler's price range.

My car battery was dead, and a wonderful staff member let me borrow his jumper cables! The breakfast staff downstairs is superb! A very nice gentleman working the Starbucks counter in the morning was always smiling and attentive. A wonderful woman, (Julia was her name, i think) always available to answer Billing questions and ensure my stays were prefect. overall, amazing staff!

Views from the hotel are great!

Can't wait to come back! Thinking about making a stay for leisure!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    164
    67
    24
    17
See reviews for
114
126
36
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I found rotted stinky food in our fridge from the guest before us or even before them. The towels and washcloths were not clean. One of the towels that was folded and ready to use on the towel bar had lipstick and even the looks of fesses on it. The washcloth had either black make up or grease and yellow stain on it. The room needed a good vacuuming. The room service dishes were left in the hall from the guest the previous night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Let me first start by giving you my most sincere apologies regarding the housekeeping issues you encountered. I'm embarrassed by the numerous issues and want you to know that I have personally followed up and addressed each item.

It is extremely rare for us to have an housekeeping issue this severe and I want you to know that we take the feedback extraordinarily seriously. Thank you for taking the time to let us know as we will use it as an opportunity to improve our processes and our training.

Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in the future.

Best wishes,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If we go to Madison we will definitely stay here again! We picked this one because the restaurant inside has great reviews. We were disappointed that upon arrival, we were informed the restaurant was closed for the evening because there was a private party/conference, but they were able to provide room service from the restaurant. It was so far from disappointing! The filet Mignon was phenomenal! The price was high, but it was worth the value with excellent portion sizes. I can't wait to go back and visit the restaurant. The rooms are really nice, new, and clean. The hotel lobby smelled really good upon entry and had a modern sophisticated feel.
We opted to have a few drinks away from the bar so we could play a little pool so we had the front desk call a cab to bring us to a bar/billiards nearby. As we were waiting, a gentleman named Dan who worked at the hotel offered to drive us after we waited about 20 minutes for the cab and it still didn't show. We took him up on the offer since the shuttle service was unavailable and like the rest of the staff, he was very pleasant. The lobby area is large and very nice with a living room setting near the fireplace. Would recommend this hotel and restaurant to everyone if you're looking for a very comfortable and clean place with excellent staff and a convenient location close to everything!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Hilton Madison Monona Terrace is not a five-star property. But I'm giving it a five-circle rating because, for $149, it delivers more than most properties. I've been returning to this hotel (except for a few stays at the Hotel Red to give it a spin) for a decade now, and the management at this hotel is solid, the service and product consistent. I look forward to my visits.

CONS
- HMMT is not glamorous, not particularly luxurious. But it's cozy and comfortable

PROS
- Best location in town, within easy walking distance of the capitol, nice restaurants and State Street
- A view of the lake from some rooms, the capitol from others
- Easy. Easy access, easy parking. Extending my check-out time to 2:00 was not a problem
- Hilton Hhonors points
- Decent gym with Precor exercise machines. I appreciate that the bike has a reclined seat so I work out my legs, not my lower back
- Cute bar and restaurant, but it's better to get out and explore Madison
- Very comfortable beds

Hotel Red is fun and contemporary: I'm glad I tried it, and I recommend it for a change of pace, or coming to Madison for a college game. But the HMMT will continue to be my go-to property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Great write up, thank you! I agree that our location is a great place to stay (and work!) in Madison. I wanted to thank you for the comments on the fitness center and let you know that I am working on an equipment "refresh" this spring to further enhance the value of the area! See you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay.
We wanted to let you know that Krystal who working at front desk this morning was super helpful. We found our car battery dead this morning and she let us borrow her jumper cables so a friend could come start our car. Above and beyond customer service! We just wanted to make sure you know we appreciated her help.
Thanks, and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for the review and mention of Krystal! We will definitely celebrate her committment to great guest service! We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

An excellent spot for being convenient to everything in downtown Madison.

Hotel is exactly what you expect for a Hilton- excellent service, very comfortable room and their standard decor. They have an indoor pool and hot tub, that although on the small side looked to be very well kept.

But like other chain hotels, this one suffers from thin walls and doors- very easy to hear everything going on in the hall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night the day before Christmas Eve. The lobby was decorated beautifully. Friendly check-in and was greeted as a Hilton Honors Member. Our room was free from our H-Honors points, so I can't comment on the value of the room. We reserved the King Suite with Whirlpool. The room was located right next to the Presidential Suite. Our room was not huge, but there was enough room to move around with no problem. The bed was super comfy, lots of pillows and very cozy. The room had a nice table to work on that was right in front of a large window with a view of the lake. A large flat-screened TV was positioned above lots of dark wood drawers and drink serving area. There is no mini-fridge. The heater was quite loud and turned on and off a lot. Turn off the heat for the night if you can or if the noise bothers you! The bathroom was HUGE! The whirlpool bathroom was the reason why I chose this suite upgrade. It was totally worth the extra points I had to use! We brought our own candles along and lined the ledge around the tub. We also brought some smelly bubble bath. The whirlpool was fabulous! They provided a luxury "massaging" soap. There's also a very large lighted shower. The vanity had two sinks. The bathroom had a very large window that overlooked the lake (shades that closed for privacy). There was also a separate bathroom with just the toilet. The toilet seat was heated! My only complaint is that there was no TV in the bathroom like their Internet description stated. I just wanted to see what it was like to watch TV and be in a whirlpool at the same time. :) Not a big deal and my hubby said he was happy the TV wasn't there. Our room included a free breakfast and it was pretty good. We had the hot choices and they were just warm. The Capitol was close by. We were in town for a family Christmas party, so we didn't get a chance to see what else was close by. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thanks for the great indepth review!! We really enjoyed hosting all the folks that were here over the holidays. As we discussed already the TV is actually part of the mirror, which is very hidden. Sorry you weren't able to enjoy it, but I look forward to having you back to use it next time! Thank you again for the great review!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the newly renovated Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Conveniently located in downtown Madison along the UW Campus, this elegant property is connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. Recent upgrades provide an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces. Check out the new carpeting, in-room safes, mahogany furnishings and multi-charging stations for in-room connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.