We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Madison Monona Terrace to your Saves list
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Location location location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

An excellent spot for being convenient to everything in downtown Madison.

Hotel is exactly what you expect for a Hilton- excellent service, very comfortable room and their standard decor. They have an indoor pool and hot tub, that although on the small side looked to be very well kept.

But like other chain hotels, this one suffers from thin walls and doors- very easy to hear everything going on in the hall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    191
    80
    29
    18
See reviews for
136
148
39
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at Hilton recently after having stayed at Hyatt before. Hilton is a short walk to downtown (be sure to stop by Fromaggio cheese and Square Wine) and on lake. Also, inside access to winter farmers market (summer version is phenominal).

My favorite hotel in Madison combining location, view and value.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for the review and mention of the indoor farmers market at Monona Terrace! I also enthusiastically agree with your wine and cheese recommendations!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, MA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We booked last minute on Hotwire and scored a great rate. The location is perfect as there are dozens of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The lobbies, corridors and rooms all looked brand new and they were very clean. The staff was very friendly and they quickly accommodated all of our requests. Thanks to the hotel staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner king room on the 5th floor and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The capitol is at the center of Madison. It occupies a square block. If you walk 2 blocks in any direction you will hit all of the Madison downtown hotels.They are all walking distance to the Capitol or the restaurants etc.

the Hilton is one of the nicer properties. It feels like a high end hotel - valet at the waiting - nice lobby - good restaurant. The room was the current theme of fridge, work space etc all built into one long wall - bed across - sofa at the end of the room. I found the space comfortable, the rooms very well sound-proofed. The bathroom was nicely finished.

All in all this was the best choice I found in Madison.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

As stated above, this was year 2 in a row for me for Ironman Moo. When comparing this hotel to other race hotels on the IM circuit, this is easily one of the best if not the best in the continental US. The hotel is very clean, rooms are newer and excellent, and the staff bends over backwards for the athletes. The pre-race buffet and breakfast is great and I'm booked here again for 2013.

Also, we too did have a momentary glitch with the AC this year. The room at first was warm. All you need to do is call the desk and they or maintenance will tell you how to operate and program the thermostat. Easy as that.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We love having Ironman as much as the participants love being in it. It is a trill for us to be so close to the event and host so many world class athletes. Thank you for the feedback, it is much appreciated!

See you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Monona Terrace Hilton. No issues at all, very nice accommodations, etc. However, the reason that this hotel receives an excellent rating is the service provided after the stay. I somehow forgot to pack up my wife's hair dryer and curling iron and left them in the bathroom of our room upon checkout. I called the hotel and spoke with a member of the housekeeping staff. She took my name and address, and two days later, UPS was delivering my forgotten items. Very impressive! Saved my bacon with my wife, too!

Room Tip: Some rooms have two DOUBLE beds - might want to specify two queens if staying with a group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind words! I have shared the review with my housekeeping team this morning. It was a nice validation of their hard work!

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to your next visit!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have never written a review on a travel website before, but I read them frequently and felt compelled to add my experiences with this Hilton. I travel frequently for business and have stayed at this Hilton more than once in the past 3 years, the most recent being two weeks ago. Every stay was consistenly excellent. The rooms are well appointed with wonderful beds and bedding, and spotlessly clean; I've had a view of the Capitol from one side and a view of the very large lake from the other. The staff - from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the bellmen - are friendly, courteous, well-informed, and extrememly helpful. I have dined in the smaller room lake-side off the lobby, and also in the Chop House, which is one of the finest restaurants in Madison. The hotel is centrally located and seems to always have their shuttle available for transportation to and from the airport or wherever else necessary in the area. In my travels I have found this hotel to be one of the very finest.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason_Havey, General Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank Polly! We strive to provide the best service in Madison and I couldn't be happier that you had great experiences!

We look forward to continuing the trend next time you are in town!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the newly renovated Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Conveniently located in downtown Madison along the UW Campus, this elegant property is connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. Recent upgrades provide an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces. Check out the new carpeting, in-room safes, mahogany furnishings and multi-charging stations for in-room connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.