We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel room - $$ extras, not so good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Madison Monona Terrace to your Saves list
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very good hotel room - $$ extras, not so good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Was at the hotel for a conference in the adjoining conference centre. The hotel room itself was very good, with excellent soft linens on the bed, and decent-sized floor space and bathroom. I didn't use the pool or eat any meals there, so I can't comment on the amenities. The $10 internet, and $13 for parking, was kind of annoying considering the price for the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    165
    71
    25
    18
See reviews for
119
128
36
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a corner room with a lovely view of the capital and the lake. We were particularly happy with the location, which was such easy walking distance to everything. However, we found the price overall to be rather high for a hotel which was just standard, and we were particularly unhappy that wifi wasn't free. The view, as previously mentioned, was outstanding, but the room was smaller than expected and underwhelming in general. The customer service was also okay, but not fabulous. In future if we need to stay in downton Madison we'll choose otherwise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEXICO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Loved the location, we where there for an Expo held at the Alliant Energy Center barely 10 minutes by car to the hotel that its located downtown Madison by Lake Monona, (we got a wonderful view of the Lake from our room) and short walk to the Capitol Building (we enjoyed walking to the Saturdays Farmer´s Market). The hotel was fully booked by Saturday but we never got the sense of overcrowding and we always got a table for the buffet breakfast (witch wee liked).

We barely got in touch with the hotel staff, everything went perfect. The just help us book dinner at The Blue Marlin, by the capitol building.

If I must say the only thing that I was bother at first was the expensive rate we got, but considering that it was fully booked, sometimes if you want the place you must pay. Definetly I would go back but as always I´ll be looking for a better deal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Monona Lake,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I highly recommend the Hilton. I have stayed here 5-6 times, and each time the experience is
a bit better. The rooms are attractive: I have been is some of their deluxe, which were recently
updated and are very comfortable, and have stayed last time at their presidential which is a solid
suite, whose master bath belongs in a specialty suite of the 4 diamond hotel (and there are no 4
diamond hotels in madison). Their breakfast at the club is improved and includes a good variety.
Service for my last stay was tops, and I would mention David and Ceera in this regard.

To put things in proportion, the other option for HH members in downtown madison is the doubletree.
The comparison is day and night: the Hilton is way better. Not to mention the magnificent view of lake
monona or the capitol (from the doubletree you can see either a parking lot, or the garbage area).

Finally, the whirlpool at the room is one of the finest I have experienced in any hotel. My mind had
to travel back to the turret suite at the Intercontinental in Melbourne in order to recall a better one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Something has changed. I don't know what it is, but the place doesn't have the same level of customer service that it used to have. The parking lot was full, the valet was rude, there was a squad car in front when I arrived and the desk staff was distracted. I stayed here before and it was exceptional from door to door. It is still a very nice hotel with great views and beautiful decor, but the general attitude of the staff has changed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us, and I have addressed these issues with our staff as this is not our typical Hilton service. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Thank you once again for your comments. Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Everything about our experience at the Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel was exceptional. My family was in town so that my son could tour the University of Wisconsin campus. Our window overlooked the capitol dome, and the beds were very comfortable. We ate one night in the hotel's Chophouse restaurant, and were very pleased with both the food and the service (I have reviewed this experience separately, to give it its due). The hotel was comfortable and conveniently located. We used the shuttle van on two occasions and were very pleased with how prompt and efficient it was. Most of all, our experience at the Monona Terrace was punctuated by consistent pleasant and helpful contacts by the hotel employees. They were friendly, efficient, and really made my family feel welcomed. We could tell from our interaction with the hotel personnel and the wait staff in the Chophouse that a philosophy of geniality and service permeated this hotel, from the top down. Not only would I stay there again, I would recommend the Hilton Monona Terrace, and the Capitol Chophouse to anyone, without any second thoughts.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room that overlooks the capitol dome. The view is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidBuss, Manager at Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you had such an exceptional experience. This is the type of service we are constantly striving for here. Thank you as well for your rave review of the ChopHouse. We are so fortunate to have such a phenomenal restaurant on property. We look forward to your next stay with us! Sincerely, David Buss, Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very nice hotel. We were in town for a wedding and stayed for 2 nights. The room was very clean and nicely deocrated. The hotel hosted a few wedding "events" and the food was delicous. Great location- walking distance to many restaurants and the water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Madison Monona Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Madison Monona Terrace

Address: 9 East Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Madison
#11 Romantic Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Madison Monona Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty of the newly renovated Hilton Madison Monona Terrace. Conveniently located in downtown Madison along the UW Campus, this elegant property is connected by skywalk to the Monona Terrace Convention Center. Choose from a variety of guestrooms and suites with views of the State Capitol or beautiful Lake Monona. Recent upgrades provide an upscale, urban and residential feel to the rooms and public spaces. Check out the new carpeting, in-room safes, mahogany furnishings and multi-charging stations for in-room connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Madison Monona Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Hilton Hotel Madison
Hilton Monona Terrace Hotel Madison
Madison Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Madison Monona Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.