We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, good room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Madison East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Madison East to your Saves list
Residence Inn Madison East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4862 Hayes Road, Madison, WI 53704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Rhinelander, wi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great staff, good room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were in Madison for my son's surgery. We needed a 2 bedroom suite so he could rest after surgery and i wanted a kitchen so i could make what he wanted to eat. The night after surgery there were loud people above us and when we called to complain, the font desk took care of it immediately. From the first day to the last ALL the staff wer attentive, polite, and did whatever they could do to assist us.

The hotel is obviously older, but it was clean and aside from some new carpeting was well taken care of. Thebeds were comfortable and rooms spacious. You could hear the people walking above us but I hear that in every hotel.

Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    34
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
18
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Traveled to Madison from Florida for a cycling race week. Staff was amazingly freindly and attentitive. They were eager to assist us and make our stay pleasent. The room was clean and had pleanty of room to spread out with 3 young teens. The kitchen came in very handy so we could prepare our own meals to save money and be healthy. However, we didn't need to cook very much, as the breakfast and evening welcome reception cut down on the need for meals! A wonderful surprise. The hotel is on the east side of town, but it was still easy to get Capitol. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are huge. Lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prentice, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My daughter, her husband and their 4 awesome kids and our foreign exchange student from South Korea, Seong, came here because Seong wanted to see our state's capitol. What a wonderful stay it was, starting with such a cordial check-in. The breakfast was superb, the swimming facilities just right and it was so easy to get to the capitol with a straight shot on Washington Avenue. We visited the capitol, (the lookout view at the top is perfect for picture-taking), shopped and ate our way down State Street. Then back to the friendliest, most helpful staff at Residence Inn and more swimming. We were all absolutely satisfied and my husband and I have decided to come back here by ourselves, also. It is such a treat to visit a big city and get treated so nicely by wonderful staff members in a really nice hotel. We also ate at Ella's Deli and the kids were speechless at what you can find, see and watch in there. An awesome place to bring kids and grandkids. And their carousel really rocks! Just bring along more money than you'll think you need because, coming from a small village such as Prentice, you find out fast everything costs more than you'd ever think! We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Fairly new residence inn and very well kept. our check in person (Scott E.) was especially pleasant and helpful. Aligned our room with our guest, provided excellent info on dining and made us feel very comfortable. Thanks Scott E.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It's unfortunate that Marriott does not have any hotels in the Capitol area compared to their competitors. So you have to choose between Madison East like this facility or out in Middleton. I chose here since it was a straight shot on Washington. The area is not the best as you can compare to the other competitors adjacent to the property (Rodeway, Red Roof, Econo Lodge, Motel 6). There are plenty of chain restaurants as there is a nearby mall which attracts very generic businesses. Our room was on the first floor and there were plenty of scrapes on the front door from people probably leaning on the door with their luggage. A simple wipe with a magic eraser can enhance the image quite quickly. The room itself was nice with different tables for eating and working along with double doors to the bedroom. They have an ice machine near the pool/exercise room but no ice bucket in the room. The noise level is quite loud as there were many families staying and you could easily hear noise in the hallways as well as room doors slamming shut. The parking lot can be quite full and access to the hotel from Washington can be tricky if you miss the exact frontage road exit when coming from the Capitol since there is a closer right-in, right-out access only that is closer to the property.

The main positives are the staff. They were all very professional, helpful, and smiling whether it was front desk at check-in and check-out, cleaning staff, restaurant staff, and if you met them in the hallway or at their normal location. Security was good, too, as the side entrance requires a keycard at all times because it's not easily seen by house staff. I would rather check out another property before returning back here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Residence Inn Madison East, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Cuyler3329,
Thank you for your review of the Residence Inn Madison East. I'm glad to hear that our staff was helpful and professional and the security of our hotel made your stay comfortable. Please accept my apologies that the rest of your stay did not meet your expectations. It is our goal to impress our guests, and it is obvious that we came up short during your stay. I can assure you that your concerns have been addressed with my staff. I hope you will reconsider and allow us another opportunity to impress you on your next visit to Madison.

Sincerely,
Krystal K.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The hotel was great, the staff was friendly and helpful. Great location, beautiful surroundings and a very nice pool. The rooms were excellent and very spacious. We had a wonderful breakfast at the hotel and the food was great-- eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and cereal. It does have a small parking lot though but is nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The good news: The room itself was fantastic. Spotless clean, comfortable, pretty, convenient. Full kitchen, living room, etc. Only downside was crummy view from the window, but otherwise fantastic room. Breakfast in the morning was deluxe-- 5 star food quality and selection. Staff friendly and helpful. The bad news: The fitness center. Disappointing. Couldn't control the audio on the elliptical, elliptical not in great shape, room MUCH too hot, no fans or a/c, I couldn't even open window, asked front desk for help with audio controls-- they were clueless. Front desk help should be able to answer basic questions about the fitness equipment in my opinion. There isn't anyone else to ask! If you don't plan to use the fitness room, this is a nice choice. If you want a decent fitness room-- go elsewhere-- there are literally more than 7 hotels within a stone's throw of this location so you aren't giving anything up in terms of location.

Green Features: Disappointing!!!! No provisions in the room for recycling.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Madison East

Address: 4862 Hayes Road, Madison, WI 53704
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Madison East 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Madison East Hotel Madison
Madison Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Madison East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.