We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice room, terrible parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Madison East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Madison East to your Saves list
Residence Inn Madison East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4862 Hayes Road, Madison, WI 53704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Virginia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Nice room, terrible parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The room was fantastic. Just like many other Residence Inn's, it was very spacious and clean. As a Marriot Rewards member you get a personal note in the room. It does not add anything to your room, but it certainly gives you a comfortable feeling. Grounds are very nice, typical Residence Inn facilities. We used the pool, the spa was very nice. Lots of kids here, but it is summer time, so it should be expected. The self serve laundry did a good job with our clothes. There is no overhang at front hotel, so with a sprinkle coming down you are in the elements when you unload your vehicle. Parking-horrible, definately a negative. There is very limited parking near the entrance to hotel so you have to walk some to get in/out of hotel. Getting to the hotel was a challenge, the address in GPS takes you a little a stray and it is not easy to see the hotel. Overall, a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
17
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was initially leery of the place since from the outside it appears aged and kind of dingy, but I was pleasantly surprised by the room inside, which was spacious and clean. Things went downhill from there. My biggest complaint is about the food--the staff was either overworked or not paying attention, since more often than not the steam tables were full of empty pans. The dinner entrees--for example, freshly grilled hamburgers--would sometimes be gone literally ten minutes after the start of the dinner hour, and sometimes would not be refilled at all. It may sound petty to complain about free meals, but I pay the Marriott rates because those "free" meals are supposed to be included. Housekeeping did a fair job when they showed up to my room, although they would not clean the room if I dared to leave the Do Not Disturb sign up until 12 PM. I will say that everybody I spoke to was very nice, including the receptionist who I called to cancel the remainder of my stay there. I was not surprised to see that she hadn't cancelled it by the next morning. Overall I would have preferred less nice and more competent all around. Definitely the worst Residence Inn I've been to, and I won't be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Residence Inn Madison East, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. I apologize you had such a negative experience while staying at our hotel. I want to assure you that these issues have been addressed. We have taken several steps to help ensure these situations don’t happen again. We hope with our continued efforts to improve the quality of stay for our guests, you will give the Residence Inn by Marriott Madison East another try if you find yourself in the Madison area again.
Sincerely,

Jennifer Schneider
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Five "girls" spent the weekend at this Residence Inn. What a wonderful experience. Greeted with warm cookies. Five of us in the suite with 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, great game playing table and chairs and complete kitchen. Beds were soft and comfy, housekeeping did a fabulous job. Good flow in the breakfast area. Breakfast was the most extensive we've had. They even had sugar free syrup which is difficult to find for diabetics on the go. Front desk was very knowledge about activities in the area and quite capable of helping with directions. Good price for a group of 5--$199.99 senior rate for the suite/night.

Room Tip: When making a reservation be sure to tell your reservationist exactly who is in your group and their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Residence Inn Madison East, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us in July. It is always so great to hear that my staff and hotel have met or exceeded the expectations of our guests. I am very glad you had such a wonderful stay and I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Madison.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Schneider
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Rooms are nice,clean and big.Wife and I stayed in a one bed studio ,Full size fridge two burner stove top etc..For the two of us it was perfect.Nice pool ,spa was cold.Breakfast was excellant,only draw was coffee kept running out. The only real problem was parking a camper took up three spots and a car with a trailer took up three more ,people had to park at Comfort inn or Perkins. Two of the kids and their 2 boy's stayed in a 2-bedroom real nice, only kitchen difference the had oven with 4 burners.

Room Tip: Stay on third floor ,floors are thin you hear every foot step above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Residence Inn Madison East, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us in July. It is always so great to hear that my staff and hotel have met or exceeded the expectations of our guests. I apologize that there was a lack of parking spots in our lot and that you were forced to park at Perkins. Please know we do our best to accommodate every one of our guests and that this is something we will do our best to keep from happening again in the future. Thanks again for your feedback and I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Madison.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Schneider
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loomis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks, without one complaint. This Hotel was recently updated, clean and the Staff was extremely friendly and accomodating.

Room Tip: All rooms have been recently renovated and all have easy access to the Lobby and stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Residence Inn Madison East, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us in July. It is always so great to hear that my staff and hotel have met or exceeded the expectations of our guests. I am very glad you had such a wonderful stay and I hope you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Madison.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Schneider
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I felt some trepidation when I walked in and could smell the fresh paint. The main lobby/breakfast area was under reconstruction and it looked pretty bad when I checked in. I was not looking forward to the four nights I would be there.
But then I got to my room. It felt huge and had a great layout. The color scheme was friendly, but understated.
I loved having a full-sized fridge and decent microwave. The bed was comfortable and I was actually able to find a pillow that was not too big or too soft for my preferences.
The breakfasts were the best I've had in a residence type hotel, and the evening meals were simple but good.
If I could, I'd love to go back once the remodeling is done. It was a great stay, in spite of the construction.
Plus the staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant View, Tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

I stay in a lot of Marriott chain hotels, and rarely have anything remotely bad to say, but this is one of those times. Upon arriving I encountered construction, to the point I felt unsafe even entering. There was excess dust and something not right with the air in the building. Throughout my stay I would classify all the entrances/exits as "unsafe" due to the construction. The workers were also cutting tile in the parking lot (near the entrances) without any safety measures in place. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Red Roof Inn & after 7pm I was seriously disturbed by a semi backing into the parking lot, whiched seemed to take forever. Given the construction and condition of the building it was absolutely unfair to be charged the full rate for the hotel, if anything it should be closed until the construction is complete.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer S, General Manager at Residence Inn Madison East, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I want to thank you for your feedback. I apologize you had a negative experience at our hotel. We value all of our guests' feedback and use it to evaluate what can be done to improve our hotel as well as our staff. I want to assure you that all of these issues have been addressed. We hope with our continued efforts to improve every stay for our guests, you will give the Residence Inn Madison, WI another try next time you stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Madison East

Address: 4862 Hayes Road, Madison, WI 53704
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Madison East 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Madison East Hotel Madison
Madison Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Madison East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.