We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good take out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nile

Nile
6119 Odana Road, Madison, WI 53719-1103
(608) 274-1788
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 836 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cape Coral, FL
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Got a vegetarian platter for take out and the food was very good and the prices were decent. Preparation was quick and staff was friendly when I picked up my food. Would recommend.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heerenveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Having been to Lulu's many times before, I was anxious to try its new location and joint venture... the Nile. They did not disappoint! I agree that being in a strip mall is not ideal, I much preferred Lulu's old-style building. However the food more than made up for it!

Our waiter was quite attentive; the food choices were quite varied and were served piping hot and quite quickly. We ordered chicken on the Greek salad and it was grilled to perfection! Try it with almonds and pita chips. We also had sampler plate of hummus, baba ghanouj, and falafel. I have to say it was some of the best falafel I've ever had!! Super moist inside and SO tasty! The olive oil dip that was brought out first was excellent, as was the grilled pita that accompanied it~definitely fresh!

The portion sizes are large, so not a bad idea to order a few things to share. There were three of us and we had more than enough! My 10 1/2 month old grandson enjoyed it all as well! The prices were very reasonable, and yes, we will definitely return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I enjoyed all the choices on the menu. Trying different types of new foods to me is always fun.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“Current fav restaurant in madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We have been to Nile about 10 times in the past 3 months. Have not disappointed yet. As a matter of fact it was a very random stop the 1st time we stopped by because of the poor location, but it was absolutely worth a try. We didn't know we liked Mediterranean food until we tried Nile. I would recommend this to anybody; you have to have the hummus for sure. Everything else has been great too including the service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We've only gone once. We love middle Eastern food and were big fans of Lulu's (Nile's previous incarnation), but Nile didn't impress us. The food was ok, but nothing amazing and our waiter was strange - he was alternatively overly attentive, with repeated visits to our table, loud and making odd jokes that fell flat, then disappearing for a long time. There was also a problem with the bill. I certainly wouldn't let a problem with waitstaff put me off a restaurant, but he really stood out since the food seemed average and there was nothing else compelling enough to make us try again.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.