We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites Madison East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites Madison East to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites Madison East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3301 City View Drive, Madison, WI 53718   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Green Bay
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my hotel of choice in Madison I stay there three to four nights a week. Previously I had given it a very good rating, unfortunately I need to amend that rating. My last two visits upon checkin my rooms were not cleaned, wrapers on the table, food left in the fridge, dirty toilets, made me wonder if the bed was stripped. The first time it happened I figured, ok one time, it can happen. Second time, no I'm done, will be staying at another hotel going forward. However, the people at the desk are still wonderful, very happy with them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonStaybridgeGM, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Madison East, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so very much for expressing your concerns with the cleanliness of your room. It is unacceptable that your room should have had any of the issues you described. Please accept my sincerest apology. Rest assured that I will be sharing your comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure that this does not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    28
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
35
15
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Muskego, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Good venue. Friendly staff. Nice size rooms and well appointed/modern. Been here before in the conference rooms but first time staying at the hotel. Would definitely consider staying again. Unable to take advantage of the breakfast and evening food options due to work schedule but was definitely a selling point when choosing this brand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonStaybridgeGM, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Madison East, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay. I hope next time you'll get to enjoy the breakfast and The Social. I know you'll love it. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel is very well kept. Very clean, modern, welcoming. The suites are spacious and greatly furnished. The staff are great - friendly and patient. I don't usually stay on this side of Madison, but I will be now! I will definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonStaybridgeGM, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Madison East, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
I'm glad you had the chance to stay with us on the east side of town (the best side). We look forward to having you stay with us again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Lake County, Indiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our small family stayed for two nights over Labor Day weekend. Overall, we were comfortable and pleased with the accommodations.

The hotel is easy to find, far enough from the interstate that there is no road noise. It was a home football weekend at UW so we noticed a few fans in for the game, as well as families on extended stays.

We had a lovely view of the Toyota dealership across the street from our two-room suite. We have stayed in other "suite" hotels and liked the side-by-side living/sleeping layout. There was a good sized refrigerator that could easily hold a week's worth of groceries, with an icemaker in the freezer; a microwave oven; an electric cooktop in the counter (a bit dated though); cabinets stocked with flatware, drinkware, and dishes; a dishwasher (! - we did not use it); a sink; and, of course, the obligatory coffee maker. The front desk happily provided extra coffee packs for us, over the two that were stocked in the room. There was even detergent for the dishwasher, dish soap for the sink and washing and drying towels.

Both living room and bedroom have flat panel televisions, sitting on older chest-high four-drawer dressers. The dressers had panels mounted behind the TV to reflect the sound, a nice touch as the TVs were positioned on either side of the wall separating the living and sleeping quarters.

The fabric on the sofa bed in the living area was a little worn on one side but mostly in good condition.

We had two double beds which were comfortable. Temperature in the rooms was thermostat-controlled, and the HVAC unit was in a corner "closet" in the bedroom behind a locked door. It was rather noisy compared to other places we have stayed, even though it was walled off. Noisier than we are used to, but not to the point of annoyance.

The bath area separates the sleeping area from the hallway wall, and is split into a vanity/closet room and then a toilet/bathtub room along the wall. The closet was about 5 feet long with double louvered doors, plenty of hangers and an ironing board with iron inside. The shower head in the bath -- whoa! Water pressure that could strip paint on one setting, gentle stream on another. It was great! And plenty of hot water for everyone.

The only drawback on our trip was a barking dog down the hallway that had been left alone in the room. It was a bigger dog with a deep loud bark and it was not happy to have been left alone. We talked to the desk clerk on Sunday evening about it when we were trying to get a quick rest after our day at the Taste of Madison. She said she would try to contact the owners but did not say whether or not the hotel was okay with leaving pets alone in rooms. The dog was left alone a second time on Monday morning and was barking again. Now, our room was across the hall and a good 10 or 15 yards down from the latchkey dog. Had our room been adjoining? We would have been really angry. We knew the hotel was pet friendly but did not realize it was at the expense of other guests without pets.

We rated this place a four, or very good, due to our satisfaction with the suite, but were tempted to go to a three/average rating because of the dog issue. Be aware of the potential for trouble when booking a room here.

Room Tip: If you are not staying with a pet, ask to be located as far away from pet rooms as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I've been to this particular hotel a few times and it never disappoints. Beautiful in design with ornate yet modern decor. It's on the far east side of Madison and close to the interstate, shopping and dining. It never seems overly crowded here. The rooms are large with plenty of room to move around and never feel cramped. Staff is helpful, friendly and professional. There are lots of hotel choices in this area. This hotel is located in the quietest, least congested area. It sits on a wooded hillside across from a few car dealerships. For peace, quiet and a relaxing stay this is the nicest east Madison hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We had a mixed experience with the Staybridge Suites East in Madison Wisconsin. The main complaint is that the hotel is an extended stay hotel that also allows pets and that adds up to some strong cleaner smell and obvious stains in the hallways and in the rooms.
This may be great for pet owners, but it’s really a non-starter for anyone with pet related allergies. Mostly because their assignment of guests who have pets is indiscriminant….meaning that probably all the rooms have had pets stay in them over time.

We got a sense for the hotel and it looked decent, but it just wasn’t clean in terms, mostly of the carpets…not just in the rooms, but in the entire hotel. It was perceptibly musty and visually obvious that there were lots of pet stains.

Certainly, this was not deception. Staybridge does say that they allow pets and that they are an extended stay hotel. I missed these details when I booked the hotel. However, the natural result of the pets being there…and for an extended period of time, is that there will be “accidents” and they didn’t seem to do an adequate job of cleaning them.

The positive side is that the local hotel management was flexible, understood our situation and compensated us by booking us at another local hotel. I would stay clear of this hotel if you have pet allergies or even if you just don’t like strong cleaning fumes or dingy carpets, because I think that is what you would find upon arrival. It just wasn't what we were looking for and didn't realize it until we got there. It wasn't for us and it may not be for you....


Here is what my girlfriend had to say:

I won't reiterate the negatives - we weren't there with pets, and this just wasn't the type of hotel we wanted to be in for our vacation weekend. However, the hotel lobby was very nice, and the staff working the front desk went out of her way to make us happy. When she couldn't find a room that we were happy with, she had the on-call manager call us, who also went out of her way to make us happy. I was worried that the hotel ordeal was going to put a damper on the weekend, but it ended up being a good experience. The staff that we met were all great - they truly wanted to make things right, and made it right in a honestly happy moods, which is pretty rare in the hotel industry (a plastered on smile does not trick me into thinking people are happy to help me), and a wonderfully welcome surprise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonStaybridgeGM, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Madison East, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for your weekend visit to Madison. I'm sorry that your stay was not as satisfying as you had hoped it would be. While we do allow pets, we take great care to ensure that all rooms designated as pet rooms are fully cleaned and sanitized to ensure that no trace of them is detected. Clearly we failed to do that in your room and for that I apologize. Our housekeeping team has been made aware of your concerns and we will be doubling our efforts to bring every guest the cleanest room possible.

I'd like to thank you also for the kind words regarding our staff. We take great pride in offering outstanding customer service and I'm very happy to hear that they addressed your concerns in such a great and friendly way. I truly feel that we have the best hotel staff in Madison and your comments seem to echo that fact.

Thanks again for letting us know how your stay was. I assure you that we will address these issues and hope you choose to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Madison.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrosse Wi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My 90m year old mother came to visit her great grandchildren. She was delighted with the large bathroom. There was a kitchen and living area as well. The breakfast was plentiful and fresh The quality higher than many other similar hotels. We found the rooms clean, quiet and more than met our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites Madison East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Madison East

Address: 3301 City View Drive, Madison, WI 53718
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Madison
#20 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Madison East 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*CURRENTLY UNDER RENOVATION* Staybridge Suites Madison East is located only 4 miles from downtown, our State Capitol and minutes from top corporations such as American Family Insurance World Headquarters, Alliant Energy, Trek Bicycle Corporation, QBE Americas, Kraft, and Oscar Mayer. When visiting Madison, WI for business or leisure travel, our friendly staff encourages you to stay with us to experience for yourself, a hotel stay that will offer all the conveniences of a home away from home. Our newly upgraded spacious suites feature a living room with sofa, full sized refrigerator, dishwasher, stove-top oven, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and pizza oven! In addition to our beautiful guest suites, we provide unique 24-hour complimentary amenities which include the following: business center- print, fax, copy, browse online for free, coin-free laundry services-onsite, with washer and dryer, fitness center with recently updated equipment, indoor pool/whirlpool access and 24 hour on site convenient store. In addition to our 24 hour guest services, we provide guests with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet daily, and encourage to join us in our hotel's Great Room for our evening social sundowner reception hosted every Tuesday - Thursday from 5:30-7:30PM. Our staff will be here to greet you individually while serving beer, wine and a hot appetizer buffet. Complimentary shuttle is available to/from the nearby airport 7AM-7PM Mon-Fri. With prior arrangements. Pets accepted with nonrefundable fee - please call for specifics. FHSIA is included, wired and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites Madison East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Madison East Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites Madison East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.