We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat for the senses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babcock Hall Dairy Store

Babcock Hall Dairy Store
1605 Linden Drive, Madison, WI 53703
608-262-3045
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 836 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Dessert, Sandwiches
Description: One of the biggest names in modern Dairy (Babcock) combined with Ice Cream (which I, ice cream expert, rank as a five). This needs adding.
Restaurant details
Description: One of the biggest names in modern Dairy (Babcock) combined with Ice Cream (which I, ice cream expert, rank as a five). This needs adding.
westport
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A treat for the senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What fun to see a full production facility - part of the food science lab - and then enjoy the fruits of that facility. And it happens to be some of the best ice cream around. It was great in the old days when the cows were also onsite, but you know they are still close by.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    15
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Searcy, Arkansas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Scrumptious ice cream and cheese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We visited in July and missed the production line running but we enjoyed the ice cream. The ice cream was some of the freshest I have ever tasted in a restaurant and the flavors are amazing. We had the mocha macchiato, the union utopia, and the chocolate turtle. We also tried the jalapeno cheddar cheese; it was very good. Will definitely stop back in to try more flavors. Very crowded during our visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Orange custard chocolate chip. Observation deck. Master Cheesemaker.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I've been coming to this store location since 1987. There's also an ice-cream stand inside Memorial Union at 800 Langdon St. O.C.C.C. is still the best flavor of ice cream (ok, custard, sheesh) I've ever had, and still the best execution of the flavor combo compared to mere orange ice cream or sherbert. All their flavors are absolutely superb that I've tried. There is a master cheesemaker (Cheddar, Brick and Muenster) if you want to taste the real deal. Take a walk upstairs to the observation deck and you might see them training more dairy science students all the way up to Master certification.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“best strawberry ice cream ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

You can't go wrong with any ice cream flavor from babcock hall ice cream, but strawberry is really the best. If you are in Madison, you really should eat this ice cream, it's worth it and among the best I've ever had.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream, mediocre sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went to Babcock Hall for lunch and ice cream. Teh sandwiches my wife and I had were pretty mediocre. I'd recommend coming here only for the ice cream. It was excellent, the portions were generous and the prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babcock Hall Dairy Store also viewed

 

Been to Babcock Hall Dairy Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babcock Hall Dairy Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.