We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nostrano Restaurant

Nostrano Restaurant
111 S Hamilton St, Ste 13, Madison, WI 53703-3240
608-395-3295
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 806 restaurants in Madison
Price range: $29 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W Main St | S Carroll St
Transit: Madison Metro | Routes 1-8
Oregon, wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I've been to Nostranos several times. I was never disappointed. Their foccacia bread is to die for, along with their olive oil. I've had their seafood soup which is excellent and a full meal. Wine selections are adequate and the bar is very lively and accommodating. But make reservations or call ahead as it is not a large place

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    26
    14
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Elegant, Eclectic and Exquisite Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Dined here in Madison with my husband while visitng our son at UW. Restaurant is small, menu is very small, but what they do, they do superbly. First, menu is short on description, and basically just lists the ingredients. Same with cocktail menu, very hard to tell what you are going to get based on the paperwork. So we asked a lot of questions and our waitress was very knowledgeable and right on the mark. We shared the scallops and the sausage/pate platter to start. Both excellent. The scallops were perfectly cooked, very moist and plump They were accompanied by a light drizzle, spinach, cauliflower, red pepper and hazelnuts. Perfect for each of us to taste. The pates and sausages were tasty and fun and the serving was generous. Several different tastes, served with some homemade toast slices and grainy mustard with dried cherries.

Our entrees were outstanding. My husband had the whole wheat pappardelle with lamb ragu which was lighter than it sounds and perfectly spiced. I had the pancetta with toasted polenta, which came with a fruit glaze on the pancetta and very crispy polenta stocks along with Rapino and dried cherries and toasted hazelnuts. This was different, well cooked and worked perfectly together. Very rich, but not too big. My son had the rabbit boudin which was melt in your mouth delicious. The mushrooms and light olive mixture is the perfect accompaniement. When everyone claims they ordered the best dish, you know something went right. Dessert was also great. We had the agradolce, which came with three small warm homemade sugar donuts. I wanted to drink the espresso chocolate Carmel ice cream mixture it was so good. The Torta was also excellent -- a goat cheesecake along with fruit sorbet and shortbread cookies. Needless to say we did not leave a drop on the plate for either. The small menu concerned me at first, but they.do what they do incredibly well here and we will happily return here on future visits. Service was friendly and efficient, decor is attractive, it is cozy and romantic and the acoustics allow for.easy conversation. Along with fab food, what more could you ever ask?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Attention to detail, big flavors worth the expense”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband and I went to Nostrano for our anniversary last night. The place only has around 15 tables, and a small bar area, so reservations are a good idea. Also, be prepared to be there for a couple hours if you want the full dining experience. We shared the salumi plate, which was perfect for 2 people. The pate and terrine were especially flavorful. For the main course, we ordered the rabbit 2 ways, and the lamb ragu pasta. Both entrees were FANTASTIC. The portion sizes were enough for the meal, but won't provide leftovers if this is important to you. I cannot emphasize enough how flavorful the food was. For dessert we ordered the goat cheese cheesecake with sour cherries/raspberry sorbet and the espresso/carmel gelato with seasalt and fresh mini donuts. The cheesecake was bright and punchy, very refreshing. The coffee/donuts was warm and comforting. We bought a bottle of primitivo to share, which went great with our meal. This is a special restaurant for a special occaision. Our 3-course meal, with one beer, one seasonal cocktail, and one bottle of wine came to $150. Money well spent for amazing flavors, careful presentations, and loving company.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow! My new favorite place in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nostrano has one of the most unique and exciting drink menus around. And, it changes seasonally, so there is always something new to try. The fall tonic was wonderful. The food was fantastic. Great menu with a variety of options - we each tried something different (chicken, snapper, lamb and pasta) and were all pleased with what we ordered. Wonderful service, great decor...all was good. Excited to go again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Last minute choice turns out excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food and service! We asked the waitress for a little longer explanation of the menu items and the excitement began. We were with friends that like to share foods, so we were able to try a lot of items. They were all delicious from starters to dessert.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostrano Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nostrano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostrano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.