We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavors did not bowl me over, but it was generally pleasant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nostrano Restaurant

Nostrano Restaurant
111 S Hamilton St, Ste 13, Madison, WI 53703-3240
608-395-3295
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nostrano Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 826 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $29 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: W Main St | S Carroll St
Transit: Madison Metro | Routes 1-8
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Flavors did not bowl me over, but it was generally pleasant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place had been on my list to check out for quite a while, which I finally did. I was somewhat disappointed. It was very expensive, but the flavors did not impress like they do at other nearby choices such as L'Etoile, Graze, and the Tornado, which would all be better in my opinion. I found the portions small. Highlights included the drinks, and an excellent caramel gelato in espresso with fresh donuts on the side. Yum!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great Place on the Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Hands down the best place in Madison to enjoy Mediterranean inspired cuisine. A little bit pricey but definitely worth it!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Go for the Pappardelle & Affogato if nothing else!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Finally made it to Nostrano during Madison Restaurant Week. Overall the food and wine pairings were excellent, but the highlights were the lamb pappardelle and affogato. I'm not a big fan of lamb, and cinnamon and mint may sound like an odd combination for a pasta sauce, but wow it was amazing. The affogato was seriously the best dessert I've ever had. What a perfect combination!! Not a negative, only a heads up, the menu is limited and portions are not large.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Ate here for lunch during restaurant week 2012. Got a cozy booth in the back to enjoy lunch with 4 friends. Great server. Had chilled zucchini soup...the soup was somewhat plain but the veggies and peppers that mixed in were relish! Entree was orecchiette with sausage and brussel sprouts and some cheese...sooooo yummy! Dessert was blueberry poundcake with coconut ice cream. Tasted like a morning coffeecake and was lovely. Okay portions for all I ordered but my friends were quite disappointed with the extremely small portion of white fish sandwich they received for their entrees. Anyway I would love to try Nostrano again sometime soon for dinner too! Great food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceeds its reputation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stopped in Madison in part just to try Nostrano. We were not disappointed. Excellent service, limited but inspired choices both for starters and mains. Seafood was prepared with expert care - even a chicken dish worked. The scallop starter is not to be missed. The octopus was very good, but not in the same league. The snapper with mussels and clams was a home run. Desserts looked great, but it is also a great area to wander to another restaurant for dessert or drinks. The wine list was very special with plenty of choices by the glass or quartino (2.5 glasses) - prices were appropriate for the ingrediants, preparation and care - also reasonable wine list (and local beer) prices and choices. Definitely a "must stop" when in Madison. Reservations highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostrano Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nostrano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostrano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.