We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Union South - great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wisconsin Union Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wisconsin Union Hotel
Save
You added Wisconsin Union Hotel to your Saves list
1308 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53715   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Union South - great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at the Union for the first time. Was not even aware they had hotel rooms. Reception was friendly and helpful. The location was perfect as we had bikes. Rooms clean and perfect for an overnight. Highly recommend to book early if staying for a football weekend. Price was perfect for what you received and if you have a union membership, you will receive a discount. Will return!

Room Tip: Great price and location. Best rooms in Madison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    24
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
17
4
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Never thought staying in a university-run hotel to be that nice and comfortable.
We had a room with the lake view. Room is nicely done, very clean, almost perfect.
Location is also wonderful for being downtown to access all university 'stuff'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Wisconsin Union Hotel-Madison this past week. We were there for student orientation for our daughter who will be attending the U this fall. We chose this hotel for the location, it being in the Union South building where all of the parents/student meeting were to be held. What a 5-Star Hotel it was!! Starting with the front desk staff who were so pleasant and helpful to work with to a newly remodeled hotel that was clean and everything worked! Large enough and comfortable although the pillows were not to my liking. I did not request another as I assumed all were the same...lumpy filling. The bed was comfortable. The maids were efficient and fast, the amenities were lovely and the fridge was a nice size. The parking (free with room) was conveniently located under ground of the hotel so a simple elevator ride from the front desk. Loved the stay and would highly recommend to anyone who might want to visit their student.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear patty r,

Thank you so much for your energetic and kind review! We strive to consistently provide superior service and accommodations. It is great to hear that you found our housekeeping and front-desk staffs so helpful. I truly believe that our #1 goal is to provide for Union-members and parents of UW-Madison students like you, so your comments are very important. Parking, as you mentioned, is a hassle in this city, and that’s why we are happy to provide it for our guests.

Thanks again; and On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Booked our room at the Union for my son's Freshman Soar a little hesitantly. After all this is the Union in the heart of a college xampus how good could it really be? What a surprise to find our room to be so clean and so comfortable!! The A/C needed to be set quite low to cool the room but our stay was very comfortable! Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be close to Campus during their visit to Madison!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear lhkzoomzoom,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. I am glad to hear that our housekeeping consistently keeps the rooms clean and comfortable for guests like you! I am truly thankful that my staff and our hotel, right where SOAR takes place, were able to surprise you in the ways described during your short and busy visit.

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed there the past three days, in a suite, and the accommodations were just horrible. The suite we stayed in, didn’t have functioning hot water, the air conditioning didn’t work properly and when I asked for a late checkout today, the gentleman at the front desk said we could have an additional 15 minute. I am an alumni of Wisconsin and was taking my son there for his freshman year and wow, did we have a miserable experience there. It was also very disappointing to be in a suite, where you couldn’t open the drawers in the main bedroom. When I asked for an additional blanket, only a sheet was given.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wishotel, Front Office Manager at Wisconsin Union Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear johnm68534438,

Thank you for expressing your concern regarding your experience at the Union’s Wisconsin Union Hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel services may have caused you.

I personally assure you that maintenance has taken the time to inspect the suite you stayed in. We have not experienced any issues with the hot-water supply to that room thus far, but our staff will keep an eye on it in the future. I do sincerely apologize for the air-conditioning fluctuations you experienced during your stay. Again, maintenance will inspect the issue to the fullest extent, insuring that such an occurrence will not repeat itself during our next exceptionally hot week.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior accommodations; your comments enable us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

On, Wisconsin!
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent the weekend in Madison attending a wedding, and had an excellent experience as guests at Union South. The accommodations were unexpectedly (after all, it's a student union) comfortable and the staff is superb. We had most of our dealings with Andrew whom we found to be exceedingly capable, friendly and professional, as were all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Wisconsin Union Hotel many times and for many reasons. The location (center of campus) is ideal, the rooms are always extremely clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and the underground parking is a bonus, too! When we know we are visiting Madison, the Union Hotel is always my first reservation choice. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wisconsin Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Union Hotel

Address: 1308 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53715
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wisconsin Union Hotel - Madison at Union South offers a warm, inviting oasis of ‘green’ hospitality, welcoming you to one of the nation’s most livable cities with peaceful ambiance, artful decor, and unsurpassed service. This brand new 60 room boutique hotel is sure to please. Set in the heart of a vibrant Madison neighborhood, the new Union South is nestled between the Computer Sciences & Statistics Building and Engineering Hall on the south side of the UW-Madison campus, just across Campus Drive from the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wisconsin Union Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.