We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly cupcakes but on the pricey side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bloom Bake Shop

Bloom Bake Shop
1834 Parmenter Street, Madison, WI 53703
608.831.5797
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Coffee & Tea in Madison
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Vegan
Dining options: Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Heavenly cupcakes but on the pricey side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bloom is such a cute little bakery! It smells absolutely heavenly when you walk in. The bakery is modern yet classy. The layout of the shop wasn't great - there wasn't enough seats and it seemed a bit small. We had good interactions with the people working there, they seemed nice and friendly. They had a lot of gluten free options and non-gluten free options and ALL of them looked so delicious. We finally settled on getting a chocolate salted caramel cupcake (around $3) which was one of the best cupcakes I've had in a long time. I would definitely recommend Bloom for the taste of their cupcakes but the price brings it down a bit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Overpriced dry grocery bought pastries”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Way overpriced for the "quality". Bought a dry cupcake and brownie. Decorations are below average. Staff was nice and friendly. Not open on Sunday or Monday which is annoying. Not worth your time, go to Clasen's instead.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“How does this place continue to hold on?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Not that it is a bad place at all - but with a product line of only whoopie pies and cupcakes, I don't know how they do it. The owner is a gem so that must be the secret. She reminds me of the lead character in Weeds - so maybe it is really a "fakery" ;-)! The cupcakes are pretty good and they could use a coffee maker (they do French press only). I wish they would expand into an actual bakery.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I Love Bloom!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

i can't say it enough. I love Bloom. The staff is friendly. There are always new flavors and tried-and-trues in the case. Many ingredients are sourced locally and if you are vegan or need gluten-free desserts - they have you covered.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Bloom is one-of-a-kind. They use local and fresh ingredients that somehow manage to make a mouthful of sugary goodness taste healthy. The small shop in Middleton is beyond charming and the staff is super sweet. In fact this morning they quickly custom made two Mardi Gras cupcakes for me while I waited. My only disappointment with Bloom has been arriving later in the afternoon on some occasions to see that the special I had seen on Facebook and craved all day was already sold out. So, go early and go soon - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloom Bake Shop also viewed

 

Been to Bloom Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloom Bake Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.