We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding old-fashioned bakery (from scratch)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batch Bakehouse

Batch Bakehouse
1402 Williamson St, Madison, WI 53703-3728
+1 608-257-1652
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 823 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Batch Bakehouse is a small bakery that specializes in Croissants and classic French Baguette. We bake fresh from scratch every day. Offering a variety of artisanal loaf breads and a wide selection of pastry. Our chefs seem to put something new in the case every day, stop in to see what we've baked today. Our croissant items tend to sell out early, so come early and often to get the best selection; or simply call ahead and we'll hide your order behind the counter.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding old-fashioned bakery (from scratch)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

When it comes to made-from-scratch artisan breads and bakery treats, the Batch Bakehouse can't be beat. I love the scali and ciabatta breads. You can either find them at Willy Street Co-op or place a special order if you need something baked fresh for a special occasion. Simple high-quality ingredients, nothing artificial. HIGHLY recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I really like this bakery, very small and cute and the baguettes are quite good. My only complaint was that I had an enjoyable cookie once, and then I got it again and it wasn't very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Starchy passion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Batch, on the very end of Willy Street, has the best croissants in town. Flakey on the outside, buttery- soft inside. Whenever I want a breakfast treat, that's where I go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great bakery with many surprises!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Have stopped at this bakery every weekend for the last month. We always get their demi baguettes, and s treat for later. Great food and great people behind the counter.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanLinley, Owner at Batch Bakehouse, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Our pastry chefs are constantly coming up with new recipes and variations on old favorites. Thanks for stopping in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious with many choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a wonderful little bakery with a lot of choices. The chocolate croissants, orange swirl rolls and assorted breads are top notch. I'll be back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanLinley, Owner at Batch Bakehouse, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you at the bakery again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Batch Bakehouse also viewed

 

Been to Batch Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batch Bakehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;