We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on campus!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowell Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lowell Center
Save
You added The Lowell Center to your Saves list
610 Langdon Street, University of Wisconsin-Extension, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mahomet
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place on campus!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Lowell Center was a great find for my trip! I was in Madison for 2 weeks and needed a place that was inexpensive as well as offered most of the comforts of home. It was very close to the bus line (the FREE bus!). Close to Walgreens, grocery, and endless dining options. The only negative is that the room was a little loud but we were right next to the power closet and all the electronics.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
5
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for four weeks whilst visiting the University of Wisconsin to study.

Perfect location next to campus and state street which has plenty of choices for places to eat and drink, and a convenience store.

The centre and room were immaculately clean. The room I was given was huge - with a separate sitting area with a sofa and a desk, a kitchenette area, and two huge double beds - which I agree with earlier reviewers are like clouds! So comfy. The room was also air conditioned making it extra comfortable when it got a little warmer.

Great that they have a swimming pool and small gym and the breakfast was incredible - so much to choose from.

All of this was at a great price. Perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was at the Lowell Center for 6 nights to attend a conference at the university and shared a room on 7th floor with a colleague. The room looked very nice and was really comfortable. It was big enough for two persons to feel okay (however, the wardrobe is too small for two people who stay for several days) and the bathroom was quite big. The beds were fantastic, soft and big like a cloud :)
I loved the breakfast with a huge variety of food. I loved the fresh fruit and the do-it-yourself-waffles. Also the location is perfect, close to the university, to the lake, and to the central street with a lot of options for dinner and lunch and shopping.
The staff was always friendly and helpful, the room was clean.
Unfortunately, I didn't have the time to use the pool - but had a look at it. Bigger than I had imaginded, but less docorative (where are the plants gone which you see on the website?). Also the fitness room is nice and well-equipped.
I can absolutely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is a good value for price. Very close from state street, union, bike rentals etc. The staff is OK. Rooms are OK but clean. Staff is OK. Breakfast is good. Generally a good pick for short travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great converted dorm, that you wouldn't know from the 4 star furnishings and amenities. The facilitie isin the middle of the University of Wisconsin campus. One blockfrom State st. the hub of college social life. Featuring bars, every type of ethnic food you can imagine, and great independent shops with very unique WI goods. The roomI had a great view of the lake, but there is a higher premium price. The only negatives were the annoying heater unit that would blow my papers off the bed when it came on. The towels were thick, but rather scratchy. Great amenities featuring bath and body works.The shower was confusing also as to where the heat and cold were at. very comfortable bed(queen), with pillows that I swear were down, but were not. all in all a very enjoyable stay. I wasn't planning on it, but a blizzared forced my hand. It was probably the only time this winter I was glad for bad roads!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room, if by the off chance they aren't busy they may just forego the fee. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you are visiting UW Madison and need to stay over night - you have to consider this place.
My daughter was playing soccer at the McClain facility.
We got a standard room with two beds. There was a small sitting area in addition to the bedroom (2 comfortable beds), almost a kitchenette (microwave, small fridge, coffee maker and sink) and bath.
The room was very clean and modern.
The staff was very helpful, porfessional, friendly and accomodating.
Normal checkout is at 11, I asked for a late checkout. We were able to stay until after 1.
Great location; near lake, great access to restaurants, bars, etc..
I would deffinately be willing to stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Lowell Center is a hotel of the University of Wisconsin, Madison campus. It was pleasure to stay at the Lowell, not only for their modern facilities, but also for their very kind staff. They do their best to help you and you get the feeling that the ladies who manage the Lowell are volunteers, not professional staff. The Center also has a great location, very near the student union on the Lake Mendota. The room I stayed was not large, but was modern, had LCD TV, coffee maker and refrigerator and also a nice view of the Lake Mendota. The breakfast menu was good and there was also a small fitness room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lowell Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowell Center

Address: 610 Langdon Street, University of Wisconsin-Extension, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lowell Center Lodging in Madison Wisconsin! If you need campus lodging in Madison, Wis., Check us out. Overnight accommodations at The Lowell Center are ideal for persons attending conferences or other events associated with the University of Wisconsin, State of Wisconsin agencies, and other educational and governmental groups. Alumni and parents or family of students are also welcome. Conveniently located at 610 Langdon Street, The Lowell Center Conference & Lodging Facility offers 137 guest rooms,and an indoor swimming pool (the largest hotel pool in the area) and sauna. You'll also find several classrooms, boardroom and break-out areas, a large dining room, and two beautiful reception areas. Our sister facility, The Pyle Center, is located nearby with even more conferencing space available. An expanded continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Guest parking for one vehicle is available on-site for $10 per night, or off-site (three blocks away) at no charge. Additional vehicles are charged $8 per night at either site. Parking reservations should be made in advance of your visit, and reservations are based on availability. This is a non-smoking facility. As a Madison hotel located on the UW campus, we are situated only one block from The Pyle Center and close to vibrant State Street - providing easy access to the best of downtown Madison and UW-campus activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lowell Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowell Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.