We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowell Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lowell Center
Save Saved
You added The Lowell Center to your Saves list
610 Langdon Street, University of Wisconsin-Extension, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel amenities
Waterloo, Iowa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very convenient...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Staying at the Lowell Center was very convenient when I attended a conference that was held at the Pyle Center. The room was small but very clean, quiet and comfortable. The bed and pillows were especially comfy and the shower had hot water immediately with great water pressure. I would definitely stay here again. Easy access to State St. also made it convenient to explore the great shops and restaurants downtown. The limited onsite parking is a challenge; if you arrive after all the spots have been taken, you have to park in the underground lot 1-3 blocks away. The expanded continental breakfast was above average.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
12
5
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Location is great for campus and state street. Traffic is a challenge though and parking is a head ache. The staff was friendly enough but seemed to be students rather than professionals. It took a ridiculously long time to check in. The bed was really comfortable but the room comfort stopped there. I am a very small person and it seemed really hard to maneuver around the room. The closet was even a wardrobe instead of a real closet. The unacceptable issue was the lack of air. It's ridiculous not to have a thermostat and to have an oscillating fan in its place. The room was stuffy and that makes sleep impossible. There was even a sign asking that guests not block the vents over the door since the room temp was somehow affected by that. The room size becomes a big issue when you are tripping across the room all night manually adjusting an oscillating fan with some sort of inadequate cooling feature. Didn't bother trying breakfast, was anxious to get to a more comfortable location.

Room Tip: Find a hotel with central air, heat, thermostat that you control and onsite parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowellMgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Hi wysiwyg I'm certainly very sorry you had a less-than-excellent experience with us. I'm sharing your feedback with our management team and front desk staff. Since we do offer on-site parking for just $8, I'm wondering - was our lot full? Please call me at 608-890-0392 if you have anything you'd like to share with me. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed a few nights at the Lowell Center and were pleased with it. The location is excellent. The staff were friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast includes a variety of fresh fruit, hot options, and fast options. The room and the bathroom were both on the small side but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowellMgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi Rebecca - thanks for taking the time to share your experience here! I'm very glad to hear you had a good experience with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the Lowell Center while attending a conference on campus. Having completed my graduate school at the UW in the 1970's, I was very familiar with the area. The Center is well-positioned a block of State Street and the Memorial Union, both centers of activity, food, shopping and fun. It was an easy walk over to the conference facility at Union South, and the parking, which is always at a premium on or near campus, was quite adequate at the Lowell Center and only $10/day. WIFI was free and worked very well, even for large file transfers which I needed to do for work. Also, the free breakfast each morning was very nice, and there was always adequate room to sit down. Compared to the price of any other hotels in the same general area, the Lowell Center was a lot less. I highly recommend it if you are in town for a conference or other campus activity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up on the Lake Mendota side, and you might get to watch the UW crews out practic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowellMgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
WindWolfess - thank you so much for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you had a nice stay. Hope to see you again soon. If you have any additional feedback, please contact me directly at 608-890-0392. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I recently spent a week staying in the Lowell Centre and absolutely loved it. The room and en-suite shower room were perfect, beautifully decorated and with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, bar none. One of the nice features of the room was a small fridge (a proper fridge - not a mini bar) so it was possible to keep fresh milk for tea and coffee. The basement swimming pool was a real bonus and never seemed to be busy. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great, very close to the Chicago coach stop. The buffet breakfast was also very good, the bagels were fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowellMgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Flatowner - thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lowell Center. I'm happy to read you had a good experience with us. Hope to see you again next time you are in Madison, Wis. If you have any additional feedback, please feel free to contact me directly at 608-890-0392. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed twice at this place in the last couple weeks - once for the SOAR and the next time when we moved my son into his dorm. The first time, I absolutely loved it. The room was long and skinny and the bathroom was huge. The A/C worked fine and the beds were very comfortable.

I wish I could say the second stay was just as nice. But I can't. We got a tiny room and the bathroom reminded me of the bathroom when I was on a cruise. Very small and hardly any place to put anything. Also, we could not get the room cool and it was very hot during move-in. As a result, I slept terribly.

We all agreed the continental breakfast left a lot to be desired. The waffles were good but just about everything else was just OK.

If I went back I would try to make sure I got one of the bigger rooms. Ironically, I paid more for the smaller room (but not by much).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

A unique place to stay...hotel style rooms in a dormatory atmosphere. Rooms well appointed, nicely fuurnished and decorated. Lacks services such as dining. Walking to food is necessary. Two blocks up is college town and offers a variety of ethnic cousine. Lowell does offer pretty good continental breakfast. I liked their 9 foot deep swimmming pool even though it seemed to be in a darkened ghost town. Fitness room just a couple of pieces of equipment in another small dark room. If you are looking for an inexpensive clean and comfortable place to stay, then this is it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisconsinTraveler7, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi michrnbeck - thanks for choosing The Lowell Center for lodging during your Madison visit! I'm glad to hear you had a good stay with us. If you have any additional feedback, feel free to call me at 608-890-0392. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lowell Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowell Center

Address: 610 Langdon Street, University of Wisconsin-Extension, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lowell Center Lodging in Madison Wisconsin! If you need campus lodging in Madison, Wis., check us out. Overnight accommodations at The Lowell Center are ideal for persons attending conferences or other events associated with the University of Wisconsin, State of Wisconsin agencies, and other educational and governmental groups. Alumni and parents or family of students are also welcome. Conveniently located at 610 Langdon Street, The Lowell Center Conference & Lodging Facility offers 137 guest rooms,and an indoor swimming pool (the largest hotel pool in the area) and sauna. You'll also find several classrooms, boardroom and break-out areas, a large dining room, and two beautiful reception areas. Our sister facility, The Pyle Center, is located nearby with even more conferencing space available. An expanded continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Guest parking for one vehicle is available on-site for $8 per night, or off-site (three blocks away) at no charge. Additional vehicles are charged $8 per night at either site. Parking reservations should be made in advance of your visit, and reservations are based on availability. This is a non-smoking facility. As a Madison hotel located on the UW campus, we are situated only one block from The Pyle Center and close to vibrant State Street — providing easy access to the best of downtown Madison and UW-campus activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lowell Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowell Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.