We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowell Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lowell Center
610 Langdon Street, University of Wisconsin-Extension, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I recently spent a week staying in the Lowell Centre and absolutely loved it. The room and en-suite shower room were perfect, beautifully decorated and with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, bar none. One of the nice features of the room was a small fridge (a proper fridge - not a mini bar) so it was possible to keep fresh milk for tea and coffee. The basement swimming pool was a real bonus and never seemed to be busy. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was great, very close to the Chicago coach stop. The buffet breakfast was also very good, the bagels were fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LowellMgr, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Flatowner - thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Lowell Center. I'm happy to read you had a good experience with us. Hope to see you again next time you are in Madison, Wis. If you have any additional feedback, please feel free to contact me directly at 608-890-0392. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
3
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed twice at this place in the last couple weeks - once for the SOAR and the next time when we moved my son into his dorm. The first time, I absolutely loved it. The room was long and skinny and the bathroom was huge. The A/C worked fine and the beds were very comfortable.

I wish I could say the second stay was just as nice. But I can't. We got a tiny room and the bathroom reminded me of the bathroom when I was on a cruise. Very small and hardly any place to put anything. Also, we could not get the room cool and it was very hot during move-in. As a result, I slept terribly.

We all agreed the continental breakfast left a lot to be desired. The waffles were good but just about everything else was just OK.

If I went back I would try to make sure I got one of the bigger rooms. Ironically, I paid more for the smaller room (but not by much).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

A unique place to stay...hotel style rooms in a dormatory atmosphere. Rooms well appointed, nicely fuurnished and decorated. Lacks services such as dining. Walking to food is necessary. Two blocks up is college town and offers a variety of ethnic cousine. Lowell does offer pretty good continental breakfast. I liked their 9 foot deep swimmming pool even though it seemed to be in a darkened ghost town. Fitness room just a couple of pieces of equipment in another small dark room. If you are looking for an inexpensive clean and comfortable place to stay, then this is it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisconsinTraveler7, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hi michrnbeck - thanks for choosing The Lowell Center for lodging during your Madison visit! I'm glad to hear you had a good stay with us. If you have any additional feedback, feel free to call me at 608-890-0392. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Lowell Center as part of a high school reunion. It was terrific really. The idea of a converted dorm did not sound so appealing, but it was refurbished beautifully with clean crisp lines, adequate use of space, a view of Lake Mendota and breakfast included in our rate. The bed was extremely comfortable. Best of all, affordable and a real value.

Room Tip: upgrade to a Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisconsinTraveler7, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hi natsgg - thanks for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing The Lowell Center for lodging during your Madison visit! I'm glad to hear you had a good stay with us. If you have any additional feedback, feel free to call me at 608-890-0392. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed here while at a meeting. the facility is comfortable, clean and certainly a great value. Centrally located if you need to be near the U. Decent breakfast. Recently (not sure when) remodeled. Helpful desk staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisconsinTraveler7, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and TripAdvisor users! I'm really happy to hear you had a nice stay with us. If you have any additional comments or feedback, please contact me directly at 608-890-0392. Hope to see you here again soon. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Lowell Center. My husband was at the University for a conference and I tagged along. We stayed here about 6 years ago, and it was okay then, but they just completed a renovation of the property and WOW! It is really nice. It reminds me of a boutique hotel--the rooms are small--but very tastefully decorated and comfortable. We stayed in a deluxe room on the 7th floor (room 719). The view of Lake Mendota from our room was beautiful and room was very quiet. Bathroom and room are small, but adequate for two people. Bed was so comfortable, that I asked for the name/maker of mattress before we left because I'd like to purchase one. I slept great with all the pillows/triple sheeting/down comforter. The room AC worked very well and was not super loud. The shower head height was fine (think this was part of the upgrade). The breakfast in the morning was very good--much better than most hotels that offer breakfast. The only negatives I have is that the coffee at breakfast was really weak. I also was excited to see that there were Koreg coffee makers in the room, but I tried it the first morning and coffee tasted awful. The maker smelled like it needed to be cleaned... However, this place is 1 block off State Street and there are great coffee houses about every 10 feet (okay....20 feet!). Aside from the coffee pot, the rest of the room and hotel was very clean. For a building that used to be a dorm, they've done a great job with it. Pool was also nice. Front desk staff very nice and loaned me an umbrella the day it rained. Not really a valet, but gave good directions and recommendations. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisconsinTraveler7, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and TripAdvisor users! I've shared your comments with our entire team, and we were all very pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us. I also shared your feedback re: our coffee and the Keurig coffeemakers with our management team. If you have any additional comments or feedback, please contact me directly at 608-890-0392. Hope to see you here again soon. Thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were touring various colleges in Wisconsin and Illinois and were looking to stay very close to every campus we visited. The Lowell Center was excellent. The room size, the room itself, the air conditioning, the location, the breakfast were all the fantastic especially for the price. The staff was really helpful as well. The Lowell Center was our first stop so all others we stayed at were pricier and the accomdations were ok to disappointing. Thanks for a very comfortable night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WisconsinTraveler7, Guest Relations Manager at The Lowell Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor! I was delighted to read your review, and glad to know you had a nice stay with us. If you have any additional comments or feedback, please contact me directly at 608-890-0392. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lowell Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowell Center

Also Known As:
The Lowell Hotel
The Lowell Hotel Madison
Address: 610 Langdon Street, University of Wisconsin-Extension, Madison, WI 53703
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Lowell Center Lodging in Madison Wisconsin! If you need campus lodging in Madison, Wis., check us out. Overnight accommodations at The Lowell Center are ideal for persons attending conferences or other events associated with the University of Wisconsin, State of Wisconsin agencies, and other educational and governmental groups. Alumni and parents or family of students are also welcome. Conveniently located at 610 Langdon Street, The Lowell Center Conference & Lodging Facility offers 137 guest rooms,and an indoor swimming pool (the largest hotel pool in the area) and sauna. You'll also find several classrooms, boardroom and break-out areas, a large dining room, and two beautiful reception areas. Our sister facility, The Pyle Center, is located nearby with even more conferencing space available. An expanded continental breakfast is included in the room rate. Guest parking for one vehicle is available on-site for $8 per night, or off-site (three blocks away) at no charge. Additional vehicles are charged $8 per night at either site. Parking reservations should be made in advance of your visit, and reservations are based on availability. This is a non-smoking facility. As a Madison hotel located on the UW campus, we are situated only one block from The Pyle Center and close to vibrant State Street — providing easy access to the best of downtown Madison and UW-campus activities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowell Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lowell Center to your Saves list