We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by the good reviews” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Madison

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Madison to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Madison
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #18 of 63 hotels in Madison
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprised by the good reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you are looking for a boutique hotel with a lot attitude, then you are in luck. We arrived late after a long car trip and were treated with perfunctory indifference by the university students that staff the place. There appear to be no adults in charge. We were traveling with a pet and were given a room on the third floor. The room had a terrible musty smell and seemed quite damp. There was hot water flowing from the sink but we couldn't get anything but luke warm water from the shower that would occasionally cycle to full on cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    86
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
70
65
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
thomasville, NC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very inviting! Looked very modern! Customer service was great! Very clean room! I could smell the cleanliness on the sheets which was cool! Close to alot of places to eat! Great views of downtown and the capital building. Indoor pool is always a plus!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Normally I try to stay outside of downtown areas because I am not a fan of paying to park and dense city driving but the price was too good to pass up so I booked my first visit to this Hyatt. The location is actually really great. I was able to walk to the Capital which is lit up at night and stroll around the area finding great dining options and a fun nightlife.

The staff was helpful with directions and checkin was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Place for a week during Thanksgiving. The hotel is clean and the rooms are are very spacious. We like the big sofa separate from the bed. Breakfast and internet were included in the room. Breakfast was very sufficient and hot items were varied each day. They include a tray in your room so you can bring breakfast back up if you feel like eating in your room. The bathroom sink is outside the shower/toilet room which is nice, but the shower/toilet room is quite small. We had trouble with the heating system, being very hot even with the heat off. We reported this to the front desk and they came the next morning and repaired it and gave us a discount on the room which was an added bonus. They do charge $10 a day for parking but it is covered which is helpful in Madison during the winter.
The location is excellent for getting around either by car of foot. Easy walking distance to the Capitol Square and State Street. We went to a concert at the Majestic Theater one night and it was nice not to have to worry about parking and driving home. I would definitely stay here the next time we're in Madison.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I am a frequent traveler and a Hyatt platinum rewards member. I eagerly looked forward to this stay and a weekend in Madison. The location of the hotel is great.
At check in I was not acknowledged nor given my requested room type
The hotel was dirty
The hotel was noisy. Construction site next door began work at 6 am Saturday
The breakfast was not the traditional Hyatt place breakfast I have come to love. It was cold fake eggs, fatty sausages and the rotten bananas were a nice touch
The staff was not friendly nor helpful
What a disappointment

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

great location, across from the capitol. easy access to campus. the rooms are clean and comfortable. the staff were quite friendly, although we only had a minor amount of interaction with them. reasonable rates, and more than adequate facilities...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The room was good, nice and modern, clean. The staff was not very helpful at all, there were four of us, my wife, and two daughters, so we had a cart full of luggage, all of them stood at the desk and did not even ask my wife or daughter if they needed any help with the luggage. We asked for some advice on food and other entertainment, were not helpful at all. It sad I had to go to the Best Western Hotel and get better service and advice. Would I stay again, no. Need lessons on Customer Service. I chose this based on reviews but sometimes it does not work out as in this case.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Place Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Madison

Address: 333 West Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#9 Family Hotel in Madison
#18 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Madison 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hyatt Place Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Madison Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.