We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pleasure of Discovery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Madison to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Madison
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & WIFI
Ranked #20 of 63 Hotels in Madison
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ridgewood
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Pleasure of Discovery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

With a little help from our grandson, a junior at the U of Wisconsin, we checked into Hyatt Place for a long weekend. This happened to be a Fall weekend when there was no football game scheduled at the university, so things were relatively quiet at this state capital. We found the staff of mainly young adults extremely welcoming and the availability of the hotel's shuttle bus a real PLUS, taking us to a restaurant for dinner and picking us up afterwards as well as offering transport to and from the airport. The rooms all feature a sitting room and sleeping area. Shower was especially nice although the lavatory itself was a tight fit. The hotel offers an ample breakfast included, and for a light lunch or snack the fare was more than adequate and well-priced. We learned that during the just-concluded 2012 election campaign, the hotel had been used for a visit by Vice President Biden, in itself something of an endorsement. All in all, Madison wowed us with hospitality and friendly people.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    94
    20
    7
    7
See reviews for
77
72
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The rooms are very nice. Spacious and clean, especially for the price. (I was surprised overall at how expensive things were in Madison). No rooms were available when I checked in, and I realize there was nothing the desk agent could do about that, but she was not the most helpful-seeming to a bit annoyed that I had interrupted a conversation with a co worker. The rest of the time the staff were very helpful. When I finally did check in, the women who helped me went out of her way to get me a good/quiet room. They have a nice breakfast space, and the food was really good. It's easy for those kinds of set ups to be in bad shape, but they did a top notch job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Check in was fast and friendly. Modern decor in lobby and seating area. Rooms are spacious and clean. Walking distance to State Capitol and both lakes. The free breakfast in the morning was fantastic. One of the best breakfast included with a room that I've had in a long time. Easy to find right on Washington Ave.

Tips: Late check out until 1p.m. if available and upon request
Take a right and another right out of the parking garage to enter washington ave. easier and faster because the front of the hotel has a steep bank that won't allow you to enter traffic and cross the lanes of traffic needed during busy times.

Room Tip: Tips: Late check out until 1p.m. if available and upon request Take a right and another ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here recently with one of my children for a college visit. I also have a daughter who lives off campus so I wanted a place with good proximity to both. The room was large and clean. Huge television in the room. We were able to walk most places and I really liked being a bit further from the "college" part of State Street and closer to the more "business" section. We walked 5 minutes to a fabulous farmer's market that's held on the capital grounds every Saturday and parking was a breeze. The staff was friendly and helpful. I've been visiting Madison for many years as I also have a third child who is an alum. My usual hotel was the Doubletree but I think I may change to the Hyatt Place from now on.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here three nights in June and were very pleased. Location is very convenient to downtown and the university. Room was spacious and comfortable. Free breakfast was much, much better than what you usually see in chain hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsip, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Located about two blocks from the capital building, this business hotel is convenient to walking anywhere in the downtown Madison area. Tucked in among apartments and condos, the only view is when you walk out front and look up the street. But what you get is a comfortable lodging with all the amenities and no useless frills. The lobby is compact but multi-functional having couches and chairs for sitting as well as a stocked bar and breakfast area. They offer great looking snacks and pastries all day, and a decent breakfast buffet in the morning.
The breakfast included egg and ham on english muffins, assorted fresh fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese and oatmeal, with all the fixings. Coffee, milk and juice round things out. It was hot and consistently being refresh.
The hotel room was decent size with a divider separating the beds from a sitting area. The sitting area had a large sofa, a desk which could be used as an eating table, a small fridge and counter space. The fridge was not filled with the typical high priced munchies.
In the center of the room they had a large flat screen TV and a panel which would allow you to plug in any form of electronic device. Great set up if you needed to go over a presentation. The bed was very comfortable with great bedding. Room was clean and had minimum clutter. The closet was almost an after thought though tucked n next to the vanity. The shower was a large walk in with great water pressure.

We did not use the pool and exercise rooms which were small but looked nice.

While a little more expensive than we expected in a small town like Madison, it was a great stay.

Room Tip: No views to speak of as it is wedged between condos and apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Hyatt Place in Madison is an excellent choice for business travelers wanting to stay near the Capitol building. Service was excellent with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious, clean, and functional. Beds are very comfortable with nice linens. The only minor disappointment I encountered was with the shower room where the compact fluorescent lamp took several minutes before it would put out enough light to be useful and where the bath towels were a bit too lightweight for the class of hotel.

Free wi-fi and free wired internet access are provided and seemed very reliable. This is a very welcome departure from the practice of other higher end hotels which gouge their guests for up to $20 per day for flaky internet access. The free breakfast was quite acceptable, though nothing spectacular. All in all I had a very nice stay at the Hyatt Place and will plan to return whenever I find myself staying in Madison.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Madison

Address: 333 West Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Madison
#6 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#8 Family Hotel in Madison
#17 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Madison 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Madison Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.