We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cancun - CLOSED

Cancun
Corner of Odana and Whitney Way, Madison, WI
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Sandown, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Best. Burrito combination we have had since coming to Madison!! Fabulous fresh ingredients and excellent seasoning ! We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love the tenderloin!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

There is a dish on the menu that is outstanding, tenderloin tips in a red spicy sauce with jalepenos and also comes with a large enchilada with cilantro sauce that is as big as a burrito! I think it is called filete a la mexicana. Try it-so yummy! Love this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Cancun: A Madison West-Side Mexican Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Cancun is an alternative to the local chain of Mexican restaurants in Madison. We stopped in for a change of pace. At the dinner hour we were one of three tables--really quiet. The decor is bright and colorful, but the benches in the booth seem "sat out." The service was great. We had previously enjoyed the salsa and chips--the salsa had a nice cilantro flavor and some moderate heat. This time the salsa was not as good. We ordered fajitas to share and they were presented on a sizzling cast iron skillet with tortillas in a covered wicker basket. They seemed heavy on the green peppers and onions with less meat, but the flavor was good. Mid-way through dinner my companion and I noticed a gritty-ness to the food. The server thought it was the fajita spices and the chef came out to check on us, too. They stressed that the shrimp in the fajitas were well rinsed. We were given a free dessert. Bottom line: the food and the ambience was not quite as good as we had experienced before.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We tried this place after discovering Pedros west had closed. The food was mediocore at best.... a magnifying glass would have helped locate the chicken pieces in the nachos! We ordered appetizers and four different entrees. The flavor was not bad but the skimpy servings that were not reheated throughout negated the experience. The restaurant had only two other tables filled yet they seated us all next to each other like a fast food diner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The restaurant's decor is very festive and cute, although some of the booth's benches were torn and I was glad that I was wearing pants. I was surprised at the amount of seafood on their menu and my husband and I ordered the swordfish tacos. It was by far, the best swordfish I have ever eaten! The tomatoes and other spices that the seafood was cooked in was delectable! We also got pork tacos "carnitas" and they were good too. Their salsa didn't have a lot of flavor but their chips were very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cancun also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.