We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively, fun place with great food and draft beer selection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lazy Oaf

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Lazy Oaf
1617 N. Stoughton Rd., Madison, WI 53704
608-441-0370
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #444 of 837 Restaurants in Madison
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sun Prairie
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lively, fun place with great food and draft beer selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had excellent service by a waitress who was personable and very well versed on their menu items and the beers on tap. The food was better than I expected based on the sports bar type atmosphere. They had a special on Central Waters Brewery's Mud Puppy Porter on tap. It was delicious! The Thursday evening that we were there the place was packed- an office party and a pool tournament contributed to the crowd size. My wife thought it was a little too noisy, but I liked it. Now that I have seen the rave Trip Advisor reviews on their pizzas I would be tempted to try one next time, although I doubt it could beat the Reuben I had. Note: Even if the parking lot looks jammed, you will probably still get seated and the service will still be good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Fun place to meet up with friends for cocktails or food. Friendly staff, great deals, outdoor seating in the summer..what more can you ask for!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good pizza, nice staff, fun trivia games”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The food was good here and the staff was very friendly and engaging. I happened to be here during trivia night and actually ended up having a really nice time. I would eat here any time i was close by.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The Lazy Oaf is a great place to relax...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

The Lazy Oaf is a great place to relax and unwind. The staff is friendly and the food is great. The pizza is out of this world.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, fun atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

They have a brick oven for pizza, and many unique options for toppings and specialty pizzas. We go regularly after work for a relaxing, and tasty way to unwind. Go here! It's great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy Oaf also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy Oaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lazy Oaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.