We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Madison to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Madison
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4726 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Needs some improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Its a bit out of the way - which is good for the parking... but not so easy for just a quick trip out.
The rooms need some improvements (as from other posts, seems these have happened since my stay). Some of the rooms my group were in smelt pretty musty while others were fine. The breakfast was great. And the staff that were on didn't seem to go out of their way to interact, however were not rude at the same time. It would be nice if they took a few minutes to interact with the guests (just details of the local area or a hello in passing).
Best thing about this was/is there is a Massage Envy just a short walk away and it was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
8
14
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We've been touring america staying in motels for the last three weeks and this was probably the worst we stayed in. Nothing particularly wrong with it just tired looking, stained carpets that need replacing, bobbly be sheets that sort of thing.
The staff weren't unfriendly but it seemed to be they were sitting around watching TV and you had to go up to them, not as professional as we'd seen elsewhere.
I also felt uneasy because of the other customers, at least I believe they were customers. People who maybe were staying at the hotel long term that maybe had fallen on hard times.
It just felt a bit hostel like rather than the standard of the other hotels for a similar price that we'd been staying in - microtels and super 8s

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Room was way overpriced. We had not pre-booked a room because we were not sure we would be driving that day so booked at the last minute. Hotels in the area were all sold out so we were charged way more than the room was worth and they would not give us a AAA discount. Room was large, but not very clean - stains on chairs, bed had odor of someone's after shave or perfume, coffee maker so dirty, we did not use it, carpet not vacuumed, room smelled musty, clock broken and chain on door broken. Front desk staff very unprofessional both in dress and manner. Breakfast okay, although not impressed with dining area or appearance of front lobby. Advertisement claimed it had been newly renovated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Convenient location across the street from shopping mall. Reception refused to give Choice Points as we used a hotel coupon so it was a good price. The hotel had been refurbished recently but our room, other than a flat screen TV, did not seem to reflect this. The hall carpets and doors are all new. There was a noticeable gap with scuffed walls where the easy chair should have been. Continental breakfast was simple and unimpressive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and I were on our way to Wisconsin Dells and decided to stay at the Econo Lodge. We were just amazed by the cleanness, size, comfort of the rooms and the staff was very friendly. The hotel made a tremendous change to the rooms by adding flat screen TVs and new beds. On top of that we got to enjoy, the wonderful breakfast in the morning.This hotel is the real deal and it would be a no brainer that we come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great location right off the highway with a staff that is friendly. Essentially, at the budget price point, you get what you pay for, which means here a room without much personality (although you can request themed rooms), but is clean and comfortable. Our room was painted blah white and the lounge chair was missing, however, the bed was recently replaced and comfortable, and the room was equipped with a microwave, flat screen TV and fridge. The bathroom sink was updated, along with the shower. Our carpet was clearly new, but some sloppy guests managed to get gum or tar stuck on the carpet in a smeary black mess in one spot, but I'm not sure how you'd get that out. Morning breakfast was the basics of cereals, oatmeal and waffles. The area for breakfast is small, so people wandered off to eat on benches or returned to their rooms. The only problem was some male guest who thought it was funny in the middle of the night to knock on a female guest's door and scare her. He did it twice and eventually caught on that she was not amused. Plenty of food choices exist across the street in the mall out lots. We would stay here again because it is inexpensive, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I recently stayed with the EconoLodge in Madison,WI. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel has not only installed new carpet and bedding in all the rooms, but they have also added new flat screen tvs as well. The continental breakfast was a huge plus for value, too. They had waffles, toast, cereal (5 kinds), pasteries, juices, milk, coffee, oatmeal and more. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was about 30% larger than the typical standard room, but we paid the same price as usual. It is convientially located across from a large shopping mall, restraunts, and the airport. It's an easy on/off exit, and it is the first hotel you come to once you exit onto the frontage road. I would definitely return to this hotel when I am in the Madison Area.

Room Tip: They have jaccuzi and theme rooms for a slightly higher rate. The jaccuzi rooms are definitely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Madison

Address: 4726 East Washington Avenue, Madison, WI 53704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Madison 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.