We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - clean, courteous, and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Madison West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Madison West to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Madison West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Nice hotel - clean, courteous, and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Comfort Suites a few times when coming to Madison to visit some family. Every time we are impressed by the level of service we receive, whether it be at the front desk, breakfast area, or bar. The rooms we've had have been very large and comfortable, complete with a sitting/dining area. For the price, I'd say the room plus all the extras (hot breakfast, happy hour drinks, complimentary shuttle service) is well worth it.

The location of the hotel is fantastic--Greenway station is a very short walk from our room, and getting downtown is fast and easy. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Madison!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, September 16, 2009
Thank-you for making your comments on Trip-advisor. We are glad you have had good experiences when you have stayed with us ! Please visit us again soon !

Amy Miniya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
42
21
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

I have not had good experience with Choice Hotel properties, so when my employer booked me here, I really wasn't looking forward to it. I arrived and really enjoyed the hotel, as it did have the look and feel of a hotel that charges a bit more. The breakfast had a different hot entree each day, which was nice. They also had a happy hour with hot food in the evenings which was also a nice touch. The look was nice, and everyone there was very helpful and friendly. I did think this was a good value for the money.

The one thing that I found I didn't like was the fitness center. It is a few macines in a very small room, with horrible ventilation. I showed up and one other person was in the room excersing. We had the fan on in the room, but it was still incredibly hot and stuffy. They need to vent the air to the neighboring pool area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, July 1, 2009
I'm glad you were pleasantly surprised !
It sounds like you enjoyed our Breakfast and Evening Happy hour. We strive to make people feel at home. I thank-you for making your remarks on Tripadvisor! I do want to mention to you that we are working on the ventilation system for our Fitness center. We just recieved some new equipment last week so I think it would benefit all to get this room to cool better. I will keep you posted on this ! Again that for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and We hope to see you again soon !

Amy Miniya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

After reading reviews and descriptive info on the hotel website, I was looking forward to my 3 day stay. Firstly, the 'good'.....wifi internet service...fine breakfast...clean room and clean bathroom. Now, the 'not-so-good"......upon arrival, the desk clerk seemed to have 'a bit ot an attitude'.....something that I find to be rare in my other Madison hotel stays. The couple checking in ahead of me had two small children...and of course, I was assigned a room next to theirs. By the time I arrived at the assigned room, the kids were squalling 'big time'....also the room windows would not open. I returned to the loby to request a move, which I was given. The second room was an improvment, and the windows DID open. A small point....I was not offered a free cocktal coupon for the M-S Manager's reception....so I visited other nearby cocktail lounges. More 'not so good'...upon arrival, the first smell was one of ...'musty'.....the place has dark wood, dark wall paper....dark everything.....rather depressing. Ancient television sets with some major network connections poor to say the least. The 'walls are very, very thin'...and if someone is in the room above you, you could be in for lots of noise. The bathroom fans roar line a 757.....and the plumbing roars. In the room, you have a seating choice of a straight back chair (oh, my aching back) or a sofa.....no comfortable chair. Before 10 a.m. i find a note under my door telling me that housekeeping has honored my do not disturb sign, and if I need service to call the front desk before 11 a.m.......sorry, I'm on vacation and won't work around the housekeeping staff schedule......all in all......next Madison visit, I'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, July 1, 2009
I sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience with our Hotel. I have address the "not so good" with our Staff, from the attiude you experienced at check in to the missed Happy Hour drink pass, to the noisy bathroom fan. I have let housekeeping know to place the notes for DND sign a little later, as we don't want to offend our customers but want to make sure to have contact with people who do want their room cleaned and may have forgotten their sign. I'm sorry about your aching back.... We have changed about 1/3 of our rooms to desks with ergomic chairs. We have about 2/3 yet to go. Again thank you letting us know about the good and not so good. We strive to make things right for our customers and if you could please forward me your contact information I would be glad to talk to you about your stay further. Thanks again for adding your comments to Tripadvisor !

Amy Miniya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

Hotel is small compared to the Marriott nearby, but it seemed like everyone was staying here. Great room rates at this place.
Free parking and plenty of it.
Lobby was very nice. Not large but with two small sitting areas with tvs and a public computer.
Check in no problem, got my free drink voucher and visited the lounge, which is the breakfast area converted for happy hour. Comfortable enough, couple of tvs, decent atmosphere, free popcorn and happy hours eats.
First floor double bed room was more than adequate. Bed was very comfortable. Would have preferred a flat panel tv (spoiled), but no big deal. Bathroom was clean with plenty of towels. One minor room issue was dealt with promptly.
Free high speed wireless internet buzzed along.
Continental breakfast suited my needs. Denny's and McDonalds are a block or two away. Several other restaurants are not much further, including Cheeseburger in Paradise, TGI Fridays, a couple of Mexican grills and a great Irish place.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, May 4, 2009
Thanks for your review! We are a little smaller then most of the hotels in this area. We have 95 suites in our Hotel. Being on a smaller scale we really try to make you feel at home. Yet also understand that you are our guest ...so we try to address those "issues" as quickly as possible. I hope you felt this way ! I'm glad you enjoyed our many "Comforts". We are working to try to"spoil" our guests more.... so flat screen TV's for our rooms will be up and coming in our future ! Like you said we are close to many restaurants located at Greenway Station which makes it handy since it is walking distance to our hotel. Thanks for staying with us we hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikedge2
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

The hotel was as about as perfect as you could get... They let us check in early and
stay late. The breakfast was pretty basic (hard-boiled eggs, waffles, ham, etc.) They also have a cocktail reception from 5:30-7:30 (two free drinks).. prices were not bad after the two free ones.. Our room had two doubles and a pull out sleeper sofa. Still had plenty of room to move around with three beds.. The pool had a nice temperature and the hot tub was not too hot.. Very large pool area and was kept very clean..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, April 23, 2009
Thanks for staying at our hotel ! We certainly like to hear from our customers and are glad you enjoyed your stay and amenites that we have to offer. Thanks for letting us know ! We hope to see you again soon !

Amy Miniya
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

We stayed here on a weekend getaway while visiting the zoo, family, cave of the mounds, and house on the rock.

The hotel was comfortable and had a very large pool. The rooms were nice and they also had a nice breakfast in the morning. They were late on setting the breakfast up which made our morning start later than expected. They also had a managers hour where there was free beer, wine, and soda. There was supposed to be popcorn but nobody made it (would have been nice for the kids).

We found a coupon for $89 a night otherwise it was $124 a night which I think would be steep for the hotel.

Another hotel that you have to actually check out so you can get the safe fee reversed. It's only a dollar or two but I don't like to be charged for things I do not use.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, April 22, 2009
I wanted to Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We love to hear feedback from our guests. You make us better by letting us know what we are doing right and what we need to correct. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

I arrived at 11pm on a cold March night and I have to say that my room temperature would not increase. The lady from behind the counter came up stairs to try to fix it. She stayed and helped me moved to another room. She carried my bags and bend over backwards to show me that she cared I was cold.

I'm going back next year and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmreviews, Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, April 1, 2009
Thank-you for your comments regarding your stay. We appreciate and value our customers and I wanted to Thank-you for sharing your experience with us! See you next year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Madison West

Address: 1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Madison
#28 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Madison Wisconsin Hotel is situated walking distance from shopping, dining and more on Madison's West Side. Free hot breakfast buffet daily, free cocktails to the hotel's lounge Mon. - Sat. from 5-7pm, free high speed internet including wireless and free airport shuttle based on availability. Amenities include an oversized pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Relax in a Two Story Suite and/or Whirlpool Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Madison Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.