We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Madison West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Madison West to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Madison West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Kaukauna
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent a night at the Comfort Suites and found it to be a nice friendly place. We were greeted pleasantly at the front desk when we arrived, and it was very quick and easy to check in.

Our room was on the third floor and the hotel has only one elevator, maybe two would be more convenient to cut down on wait times, but it was nothing major. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The only two issues were minor. One, was that when you lay in bed, you cannot see all of the TV because it is sitting too low on a dresser. It should be raised or mounted on the wall. The other is that this was a handicap room, (which is what I need). But I found the shower head too low. It would be great for someone in a wheel chair, if they could get into the tub. There was no tub board for that, or someone under 5 ft tall. Everyone else has to really bend over to use the shower. The shower head is on a slide rail which is adjustable, but the rail itself is set too low, and should be raised or replaced with a longer one.
Other than that our room was very nice. The continental breakfast was very good and well stocked. The area was very clean.

Bottom line is we would stay here again. (but I do hope they raise the shower heads please)
And please put an ice machine on the third floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    52
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
41
21
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

They bill themselves as pet friendly, and they are. Our two Westies received a warm welcome and even treats from the desk clerk the next morning. Other than that it's pretty basic. The room was clean and quiet. The continental breakfast was very limited. The location was convenient for the highway, but not much else. If you're looking for something other than pizza delivery, the Dhaba Indian Bistro about three blocks away on Greenway Boulevard was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM1253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers on Trip Advisor know about your experience at our hotel. Our staff members strive to provide superior customer service and accommodations to our guests, and always love seeing their furry companions as well. We invite you to visit us again during your next trip to Madison to experience our recent renovations and breakfast upgrades. We hope to you see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Sarah Andler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My girlfriends and I are staying here and are absolutely appalled by the bar tender! He is very RUDE and needs to work on his customer relation skills! I have read the reviews on TA and was very open minded walking into the pub, however...the bartenders rudeness was apparent from the start. I have worked in customer service for 15 years and know a thong nor two about the way to speak to customers. This bartender definitely needs a lesson in how to treat the customer! My girlfriends and I only ordered wine, yet he insinuated that we were making his job complicated. I will be speaking to the management before we check out about his awful demeanor.
On a brighter note...we absolutely LOVE our room! There are 6 of us staying in a suit and there is PLENTY of room. Would like to say we'll be back, but due to the rudeness of the bartender, we may think twice. Too bad one bad seed can ruin it for everyone else.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda L, Front Office Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

However I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite.

Please contact me directly in regards to your experience at our bar so I can correct this situation for you.

Rest assured this quality of service is not up to our standards. I'll be sure to address and follow up with our bar staff.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Linda Ly
Front Office Manager
lly@wiscohotels.com
608-836-3033
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This place was wonderful. The continental breakfast far surpassed my expectations! It was awesome and the staff worked hard to keep everything fresh and supplied. The jacuzzi in the room was great, the bed was comfortable and we had more than enough pillows (which is unusual). We really enjoyed the hot tub and heated pool after having a long day on our feet! The hot tub is HUGE with plenty of room for everyone! It was nice that the room did not smell of chlorine.
We especially enjoyed your happy hour and JD, the bartender. He was so awesome! He was a lot of fun to talk to, very courteous and prompt! I loved his hair and wanted to run my fingers through it, but was afraid to ask! Please tell him Joie says, "HI!" I will not forget the good times we had at the bar with him....
If we are ever back in the Madison area we will stay here again! It was wonderful and a good value....
Thank you so much for a memorable, fun and comfortable experience!
Joie G

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at the end of June. Friday evening check in was quick despite slow computer issues. Complimentary cocktails 5-7 was a bonus. Although, upgraded drinks may cost $1. Bottles of beer and rail drinks were free.
The room was clean and roomy. The shower head has multiple settings and good water pressure with a rounded shower curtain for extra space. Both beds were surprisingly comfortable and the pull out couch bar, did not prevent sleep. We did not utilize the breakfast as we checked out prior to it opening.
Overall nice stay and I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stay was nice except both of the rooms we booked were damp and uncomfortable. Our rooms smelled musty/moldy/like mildew. My entire family had breathing problems the week we slept there. Also the breakfast area was never fully stocked. The front desk staff was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Comfort Suites in Middleton and found most of the staff would go above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. However, when we went to the hotel happy hour, we were shocked at the attitude and appearance of the bartender. Not only was he rude, condescending, and pompous, but his hair and clothes were disheveled, and was in no way professional. First, the happy hour is advertised as complimentary to guests, and we were under the impression the selection was free - there is no written menu that was presented to us that stated otherwise. After we were served our drinks, we were told there was a charge, which I was fine with paying, and told the bartender as such, yet he continuously embarrassed me by interrupting my conversation and gesturing from across the bar that I owed him money several times. If the hotel wishes to charge for its "complimentary" happy hour, that is perfectly understandable, but I would encourage them to have a more formal billing process and posted menu. And lastly, my daughter was in the bar area, and informed me of the following: The bartender spilled a drink on the bar himself, did not apologize or offer to replace the drink to the customer, and he threw a bar rag at the customer, insinuating it was the customer's responsibility to clean it up.

Overall, the experience was okay. We have been to other Choice Hotels in the area, and have had a better overall stay with a better value elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet stay, do not stay on the first floor as it is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Madison West

Address: 1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Madison
#28 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Madison Wisconsin Hotel is situated walking distance from shopping, dining and more on Madison's West Side. Free hot breakfast buffet daily, free cocktails to the hotel's lounge Mon. - Sat. from 5-7pm, free high speed internet including wireless and free airport shuttle based on availability. Amenities include an oversized pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Relax in a Two Story Suite and/or Whirlpool Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Madison Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.