We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Madison West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Madison West to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Madison West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location is convenient,visible off the highway, but the building is not that noticeable as you're driving in. The hotel looked nice inside and outside. I was bummed out when they ran out of eggs and had a long line at the lone waffle maker at the continental breakfast. They were able to accommodate a late checkout, which was much appreciated.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM1253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay via TripAdvisor! We welcome and appreciate all feedback from our valued guests and use this information to improve our service for future guests. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    14
    9
    5
See reviews for
42
21
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here on a Friday night to hit the famous farmer's market on Saturday Morning. The stay was comfortable. The bed was quite nice. If I had to come up with some complaints, I would say the room décor is a bit outdated and the breakfast didn't have any meats, which most Comfort Suites do. But I wouldn't let those things stop you from staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here for a convention. It ws nice to be away from the noise and hubub of the convention center prooer, but still be in walking distance. We had one of the 2 floor suites and liked it so much we pre booked for the following year's convention vefore leaving. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and offered enoygh of a private bedroom vs gathering space separation that we ciuld even have friends stop in without awkwardness.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM1253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay via TripAdvisor! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear your suite suited your needs during your visit. We look forward to seeing you again next week for Teslacon 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Using Priceline, we were bidding on hotels at the last minute for a stay in Madison. Ended up adding Madison West as an area we would accept, and got the Comfort Suites. This is a nice hotel, and just across the street and down one block (an easy walk) was a bar/grill with lots of big screen tv's and a decent menu. We would definitely stay in this area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM1253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for letting us and other travelers know about your experience at Comfort Suites Madison West! It is always wonderful to hear that our guests not only enjoyed our property but also enjoyed our neighboring businesses as well. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel & hope to see you again on your next visit to Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Tried many others. Comfort Suites is best! Staff helpful and always at desk to answer questions, inquiries. Quick to check in and out. Knowledge about area attraction and eateries. Toilet seat kept falling down for some odd reason. The ventilation was a nightmare to set and control. Apparently, you were supposed to insert your room key into slot. It was either too hot or too cold. I could not get it set, even though the instructions were printed. I had to cover the A/C vents to sleep well. In spite of this, I always return. I came down for breakfast at 6:20AM. Food was not out! That has happened on my previous trips. I am early riser.. If breakfast is to be 6AM til 9AM, should guests expect it to be there??? Mainly because of the helpful and informative staff, I return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel is more than a 3 Star...it has a bar/snack area that is large, with adjoining patio, and this area then turns into the full breakfast room in the mornings. The rooms are all mini suites, very tastefully decorated, with quality furnishings, including a very comfortable bed. The property was full when we stayed and yet it was very quiet. The staff was extremely hospitable and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM1253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your stay at Comfort Suites via TripAdvisor! Our staff is very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel, as it serves as great encouragement to each and every one of us. We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit to the Madison area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The staff was very nice and helpful. Hotel was clean. We stayed with our dog and the staff loved our dog. This was a great place to stay. We stayed over Labor Day weekend. I would stay here again when I'm in the Madison area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesGM1253, General Manager at Comfort Suites Madison West, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We are all so very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Comfort Suites over Labor Day weekend. Our staff can't wait to see you and your pet next time you are in Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Madison West

Address: 1253 John Q Hammons Dr, Madison, WI 53717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Madison
#28 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Suite Madison Wisconsin Hotel is situated walking distance from shopping, dining and more on Madison's West Side. Free hot breakfast buffet daily, free cocktails to the hotel's lounge Mon. - Sat. from 5-7pm, free high speed internet including wireless and free airport shuttle based on availability. Amenities include an oversized pool, whirlpool and fitness center. Relax in a Two Story Suite and/or Whirlpool Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Madison West Hotel Madison
Madison Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.