We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for my family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   483 Commerce Drive, Madison, WI 53719   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for my family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

During a long road trip, our rest in Madison was really nice due to Hampton Inn. The pool was fun, breakfast was one of our favorites for this type of hotel, and the service was accommodating. I appreciated the post-it note telling us that the sheets AND Duvet cover were clean for us. No more avoiding questionable bed covers!

Room Tip: I was concerned that our room near the front desk and elevators would be noisy. No. They were as qui...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are the common ones: leave your towels up if you want them left, on the floor if you want then washed.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM283, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing our Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West for you and your family! Thank you for the five star review and we hope to see you again when you are in Madison.

Stephanie Bracken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    70
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
85
45
13
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My son and I visited Madison with my parents in late July. My mother had been on the phone with Hampton to make sure we had reserved a connecting room and a pack and play for my son. It seemed that all was taken care of on the phone... until we arrived in Madison. Not only was there no available connecting rooms, but all the pack and plays had been given away. Eventually, the desk agent was able to give us a Suite with a pull out sofa. Very disappointed in Hampton's customer service. Obviously the left-hand booking agents on telephone are not actually speaking with the property. Beware when booking! BTW... what sort of hotel doesn't have WIFI these days? Shocked to see the 'ol cable on the desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM283, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We would like to mention that our Hampton Inn and Suites here in Madison does provide complimentary wireless internet and have since opening in 2008. We also supply the wired cable, occasionally a guest prefers to use that. We do hope the next time you are in area you will consider staying at our hotel and experience our true Hamptonality.

Stephanie Bracken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

OVERALL
** This Hampton Inn is similar to those in the chain. Located on the West Side of Madison, very close to Middleton and Verona, and within walking distance to many amenitites.

LOCATION
** Madison, WI (West Side), just off the Beltline (Hwy 12/18)
** Next door (walking distance) to Princeton Club Fitness Center
** Walking Distance to: Full-service salon, Milio’s Sandwiches, ALDI’s market, gas station, Brennan’s Market, Café, Tanning, RP Adler’s Restaurant and Bar
** Approx. 10 minute drive to downtown Madison
** Approx. 20 minute drive to airport
** Close to Epic

CHECK-IN
** Check in was great. Very friendly front desk staff.

ROOM
** Clean, comfortable room. Room was larger than an average hotel room, but standard for Hampton Inn.

** Bathroom, furnishings, and common areas were clean and in good condition.

** Beds are very comfortable, as are the pillows.

** Neutrogena toiletries included in the room.

** There is a separate kitchenette area with a sink, counter, fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

NOISE LEVEL
** I didn’t hear a thing the entire time I was there. Great, sound proof hotel.

POOL
** Nice size, indoor pool with separate whirlpool.

** The pool has a small "kid zone" with slides and fun things to climb on. The kid area is geared toward kids up to about age 5.

** Towels are provided in the pool area.

** There is an outdoor area to enjoy, just off the pool area.

FREE SHUTTLE
** Shuttle will transport you to local areas

FREE WI-FI
** Wi-fi is included in the stay, and is very reliable.

FREE BREAKFAST
** Decent breakfast – nothing to write home about, but good enough for a quick bite before you start your day. While we were there, selections included, eggs, omelets, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, waffles, toast, bagels, yogurt, fruit, juice, coffee, water, tea.

BRENNAN’S MARKET
** If you’re visiting from out of town and would like to sample some local beer, wine and cheese, be sure to stop by Brennan’s, which is within walking distance. This is a fabulous market with fresh fruit, veggies, meat, cheese, alcohol, etc. The staff is very friendly and will let you sample many items before you buy them. They will recommend award winning cheeses for you to take back home with you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here two years ago and came back this summer. Very nice hotel and close to the Ironman bike course. Helpful staff. Rooms are nice. It is what I come to expect from a Hampton Inn. I generally tend to seek out Hamptons.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM283, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West! We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the opportunity to host you while you trained for Ironman! The Ironman Triathalon is coming up very soon, we wish you the best of luck!

Stephanie Bracken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Overall this is an excellent facility that is well maintained. As you drive in, you assume that the first side of the motel that you see is where you check in. You do not see any signs directing you to any other location on the grounds. I went with another party to the obvious door that should lead you to the check in desk. It was the back door. A staff person finally directed us around the building to the front door. The facility needs appropriate signage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was very nice, staff was great. However they choose a Sat. evening to resurface or paint a bathroom. The smell was so over powering and could be smelled throughout the hotel. The pool area was great. My daughter loved the kids play area. Hot tub was a nice large size. Breakfast was good and easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM283, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Thank you for the opportunity to have you as our guest while you were here in Madison! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great pool area, the breakfast, and our staff. We do apologize about the paint smell and you can be sure that we will share your feedback with our team to ensure that will not occur again.

We hope to have you as our guest again when you are back in Madison.

Regards,

Stephanie Bracken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooresville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The curb appeal of the Hampton was beautiful, the check in experience was delightful(we were called when our room was ready)they accomodated us so we could check in early, the pool and hot tub exceeded our expectations, the breakfast was superb, and our check out was effortless. The maintenance employee was very friendly as well. We will look forward to staying at this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West

Address: 483 Commerce Drive, Madison, WI 53719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West islocated just minutes from our downtown Madison. Madison's "Museum Mile" features six museums and galleries that offer something for the seasoned art critic and the curious novice alike. For fun and unique shopping, check out State Street, a pedestrian mall lined with eclectic specialty shops, restaurants and outdoor cafes. While you're on campus, buy your tickets for the next Badgers football game. There are few better ways to spend a Saturday than at a Big-10 game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stes Madison West Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.