We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling to train for Ironman” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   483 Commerce Drive, Madison, WI 53719   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Osceola, United States
1 review
“Traveling to train for Ironman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here two years ago and came back this summer. Very nice hotel and close to the Ironman bike course. Helpful staff. Rooms are nice. It is what I come to expect from a Hampton Inn. I generally tend to seek out Hamptons.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM283, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at our Hampton Inn and Suites Madison West! We are truly happy that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the opportunity to host you while you trained for Ironman! The Ironman Triathalon is coming up very soon, we wish you the best of luck!

Stephanie Bracken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    62
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
77
38
12
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Overall this is an excellent facility that is well maintained. As you drive in, you assume that the first side of the motel that you see is where you check in. You do not see any signs directing you to any other location on the grounds. I went with another party to the obvious door that should lead you to the check in desk. It was the back door. A staff person finally directed us around the building to the front door. The facility needs appropriate signage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was very nice, staff was great. However they choose a Sat. evening to resurface or paint a bathroom. The smell was so over powering and could be smelled throughout the hotel. The pool area was great. My daughter loved the kids play area. Hot tub was a nice large size. Breakfast was good and easy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooresville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The curb appeal of the Hampton was beautiful, the check in experience was delightful(we were called when our room was ready)they accomodated us so we could check in early, the pool and hot tub exceeded our expectations, the breakfast was superb, and our check out was effortless. The maintenance employee was very friendly as well. We will look forward to staying at this hotel in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is a larger and very busy Hampton Inn & Suites property. If you are looking for a comfortable and quiet stay - this hotel is too busy. The property is supposed to be a non-smoking property. However, guest were congregated outside the front door smoking for hours. There was only one person working the front desk at check-in and she was more concerned with watching the fireworks. When she handed me my room card she told me the room was having a noise problem. That is exactly what she said. A noise problem because of the elevators. THEN why give me the room? She was correct about the problem and gave me a second room while telling me she'd have to give the 'noise problem' room to someone else. Like wow! How about a little professionalism. The pool and area is nice but be careful in your own bathroom because the tubs are SLIPPERY. Add a little soap with the water and my colleague slipped in the shower smashing his head and back. The head of housekeeping apologized and stated that the hotel had hired someone to come in and put safety grips in their tubs.....which didn't help him when he fell. Nothing like admitting you knew there was a problem and opening your own liability while hurting a guest. Breakfast in the morning was good but the hotel is so busy there were so many people and so few clean tables. I wasn't impressed. It wasn't the typical Hampton Experience at all. I'm not even going to mention how their elevator problems and how the main floor is the 2nd floor.

Room Tip: Don't let them book you on the first floor. Its more of a basement than anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM283, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West for your recent visit to Madison area. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience. We always take the feedback we receive as invaluable and are always using it as learning opportunities to make our hotel and our teams stronger. I apologize that we did not deliver acceptable levels of customer service while you were staying with us. I will use your feedback and take it back to the front desk team to ensure they are delivering strong lines of communication to our guests while providing exceptional service. We will better ourselves so guests in the future will not have the same experience that you did. Thank you for giving us the opportunity for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Drove out West after visiting downtown Madison and not being all to happy with the accomodation alternatives there. Great service, great room and a solid breakfast. Not the cheapest motel I have stayed in, but well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGM283, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to visit us on the west side of Madison! We appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel for the weekend I stayed was obviously booked quite full. I was delighted, however, to find that my comfort and sleep were not disturbed one iota. Perfect. Coffee -- all the time -- was fresh, hot and delicious (surprise). Staff was excellent.
Only disappointment --- there wasn't a single cube of ice in the hotel all weekend. Second, the hallways desperately need cleaning/vacuuming. That never happened the 3 days I stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West

Address: 483 Commerce Drive, Madison, WI 53719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West islocated just minutes from our downtown Madison. Madison's "Museum Mile" features six museums and galleries that offer something for the seasoned art critic and the curious novice alike. For fun and unique shopping, check out State Street, a pedestrian mall lined with eclectic specialty shops, restaurants and outdoor cafes. While you're on campus, buy your tickets for the next Badgers football game. There are few better ways to spend a Saturday than at a Big-10 game. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Stes Madison West Hotel Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Madison West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.