We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Madison Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ian's Pizza

Ian's Pizza
100 State St., Madison, WI 53703
608-257-9248
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 822 restaurants in Madison
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classic Madison Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Mac & Cheese is Classic. If you've never had Mac & Cheese on a pizza, which you probably haven't, then make this your first Ian's slice. Lots of great other options too. My favorite is steak & fry but there are always unique specials too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    61
    43
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paxton, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza - incredible variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ian's is a great place for a slice of pizza. The inventive toppings are always unique....it is a great way to "jazz up" your normal slice of pie. The mac and cheese is their specialty, but I still haven't tried that yet. The best piece I had on this trip was the Drunken Ravioli. The sauce was amazing! Everybody can find some specialty toppings they will like!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Increadible choices...way beyond your typical pizza place. We had mac and cheese, pesto portabello, and chicken pot pie. Mac and Cheese was the best and made us want to go back for more...so we did! On a 3 day trip to Madison, we ate at Ian's twice. Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing choices- not your typical pizzeria!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The pizza choices are plentiful and with a great salad bar, it may be the perfect compromise place! The crust is a bit too crunchy for my liking but the toppings make up for the lack of amazing mess there. Mac n cheese on pizza? Yes, please!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Ians is a staple in Madison. For only $3.50 a slice (one of those BIG slices), it's a great price! They specialize in unique, creative toppings such as Steak and Fry, Lasagna, Mac and cheese, etc, all which are delicious (even if they sound crazy)! They have your regular cheese, pepperoni, etc but you have to try a different topping! The lines may look super long at times, but they move fast and it never takes very long. I come here every time I'm back in Madison!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ian's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Ian's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ian's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.