We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olbrich Botanical Gardens

Olbrich Botanical Gardens
3330 Atwood Avenue Madison, Madison, WI 53704
608-246-4550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Attractions in Madison
Type: Gardens
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of Madison's most popular attractions, this oasis of green includes a sunken garden, perennial garden, rose garden, rock garden, herb garden, wildflower garden and a tropical conservatory.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Peace and Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love to stop by Olbrich Gardens, to stroll through the different areas of the outdoor gardens--from the rose garden with the beautiful views of the lake, the herb garden, the hosta garden, or the golden Thai Pavillion over the river. It's beautiful and peaceful spring, summer, or fall--and especially in the cold winter the indoor atrium with the tropcal plants is a nice hot spot to visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    87
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and FREE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a great place to go for a romantic walk, to take a book and some coffee or to just take the family outside! Its free outside, (there is an inside and that costs).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Don't Miss the Thai Pavillion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a delightful time visiting the botanical garden and especially the Thai Pavilion. I felt like I was back in Thailand and it was great to escape into quiet nature into the garden for a few hours away from a conference.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a great place to go and get away from the city. You can spend a few hours walking around the place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I didn't expect much from a botanical garden in Madison. I mean, we live in the midwest. How good could it be? At best, I thought I might get a few ideas for my own garden. Boy, was I wrong! This garden is very well done, and I found myself taking pictures every few steps. There are woodland gardens, prairie gardens, rose gardens, scuptures, water gardens, bog gardens, and even vegetable gardens, and if you're there at the right time, you can see butterflies emerging from their crysalis inside the conservatory. It's a nice way to spend an hour or two.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olbrich Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Olbrich Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olbrich Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.