We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olbrich Botanical Gardens

Olbrich Botanical Gardens
3330 Atwood Avenue Madison, Madison, WI 53704
608-246-4550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 attractions in Madison
Type: Gardens
Activities: Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of Madison's most popular attractions, this oasis of green includes a sunken garden, perennial garden, rose garden, rock garden, herb garden, wildflower garden and a tropical conservatory.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a great place to go and get away from the city. You can spend a few hours walking around the place.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    76
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Near Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I didn't expect much from a botanical garden in Madison. I mean, we live in the midwest. How good could it be? At best, I thought I might get a few ideas for my own garden. Boy, was I wrong! This garden is very well done, and I found myself taking pictures every few steps. There are woodland gardens, prairie gardens, rose gardens, scuptures, water gardens, bog gardens, and even vegetable gardens, and if you're there at the right time, you can see butterflies emerging from their crysalis inside the conservatory. It's a nice way to spend an hour or two.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Blown away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Let's start out with the fact that the outdoor portion of these gardens were free. Yes, free. The indoor conservatory portion cost us $2.00 per person, which I gladly paid, not because the indoor part was spectacular, but because we wanted to support the whole place.

We had just dropped off someone at the airport and wanted something to do for a couple of hours until their plane left. (make sure they took off ok). About 10 minutes away was the Olbrich gardens.

As a visitor, the grounds were scrupulously maintained. The conservatory was nice, with tropical plants, a waterfall and a few butterflies left. There were 15 outdoor gardens, with easy walking paths. We spent a couple of hours wandering through and no one was bored.

If you like theme gardens and are in the area, go.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always something new each season.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We most often stop in and see the gardens when in Madison. With warm weather coming early and staying late the gardens were particularly spectacular this year. We are great hosta fan's and they abound. Everything is so well done and worth the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“small in size big in enjoyment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A nice place to walk with people of all ages. The annual butterfly exhibit is fun but do not come during or after a rain... no butterflies to be seen.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olbrich Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Olbrich Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olbrich Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Olbrich Botanical Gardens to your Saves list