We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for young children.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Children's Museum

Madison Children's Museum
100 N. Hamilton Street, Madison, WI 53703
+1 608-256-6445
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 122 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The new Madison Children’s Museum is an award-winning destination for fun family activities and hands-on learning! Visit our inventive city of Possible-opolis for ages 6 and up, and our four-season Rooftop Ramble, with animals and gardens. Kids under 5 have a place of their own in the Wildernest, a global village made with natural, local materials.There’s always something new to do at Madison Children’s Museum, where our mission is to connect children with their family, their community, and the world beyond through discovery learning and creative play.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for young children.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Madison's new Children Museum has become a great place for young children. My children could easily spend days playing. They have activities to stimulate all the senses and many interests. Occasionally it is very crowded. I have been to children's museums around the country. Madison although a fabulous place for younger children, fails to provide for older children. It is a wonderful way to spend quality time with you children.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    44
    15
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Educational and a Good Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We visited before the museum moved to its newer, larger location. Even in the old space, it was still great fun. Although we did have to deal with some rude kids that were bullying the younger kids - too bad they didn't have some staff around to ensure kids were playing nicely considering the parents didn't do a thing about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Incredible place and children and adults love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The new museam is really a great place. So many things to do both fun and challenging for kids and adults alike. There is a life size hamster wheel, a place for children to climb, slides, legos, water play, dress up, pretend play, animals to observe and tons of other things to do. We never have went and not had a good time! You can plan on spending at least 2 hours to 5 hours. The only thing is that it is a little expensive. It is for sure worth it, but it can be pricey for the whole family during a time when it's a little rough.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend for Private Functions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Attended wedding reception here and it was fantastic.All the kids and big kids were kept busy with all the fun hands on games and experiences and loads of room to mingle

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wayne, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Neat place to take your kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went to see a Lego Exhibit. Many things for kids to do but our kids were almost getting too "old" for some of the stuff. (9 and 11) Love the roof top gardens. It was winter when we were there so the roof was limited for seeing a garden but they did activities for kids to freeze up there for display etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Madison Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.