We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Madison Greasy Spoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mickies Dairy Bar

Mickies Dairy Bar
1511 Monroe St, Madison, WI 53711-2086
608-256-9476
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 776 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Madison Greasy Spoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The classic Madison diner that has been around forever. Splurge a little and go for the Scrambler with your choice of meat, cheese & veggies, and get the gravy on the side. You won't need to eat the rest of the day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    47
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pancakes as big as your head!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a small diner that serves oversized meals at a low price. Perfect for the poor college student. The food was very good and the servers were friendly. This is the first time I've seen my husband not be able to finish a meal. He had 2 cornmeal pancakes and could only eat 1. I had multigrain pancakes with bananas.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“LOVE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were just passing thru Madison and stayed a night at HotelRED which was located alongside Mickies Dairy Bar. Deciding to give it a try due to its' high rating on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed! Great breakfasts with large portions. The blueberry pancake my daughter had was fabulous and it was topped with icing sugar. Not being from the US this was something new to us and it was really tasty! Our server was very helpful and prompt, she was happy to answer a few questions we had about the menu. We really enjoyed this mom n pop diner and would love to return someday if we ever find ourselves back in the area.

Tips: it's very busy so arrive early and cash only

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, WA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nostalgia and quantity are served a-plenty, but it's still a "greasy spoon."”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is one of those places that appeals to two classes of patrons - those who grew up with this local experience and those who yearn for the good-old-days of independent neighborhood or roadside diners. O.K., there's a third group who will get hooked on Mickies, hungry college students on tuition-strapped budgets. For all these, Mickies is probably perfect and that's understandable. The decor is, well, not "current," "trendy," or even describable, but that's not why you go to a "classic, greasy spoon" diner. You go for predictability, price and quantity. Mickies has all these in spades and the charm of a working-class hang-out of a '50s industrial neighborhood (yet set within a nice, intercity neighborhood). Is it anything special for what it serves? Not from my experience. Everything was pretty normal for an eggs / potatoes / ham breakfast plate, other than the prodigious quantities of cubed potatoes. The coffee, too, isn't anything to savor. So if a tourist or visitor to Madison, go if you want to have a flashback or save some money. Otherwise, locals keep this place plenty busy, and you can find better meals elsewhere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luck, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Classic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

How did I graduate from UW Madison, return dozens of times and only now make my first visit to this institution? The food was great - and generous. $3.50 for an omelet? Extra ingredients are 50 cents a piece, but still a great deal. My buddy had a chili omelet, janks and a pancake.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mickies Dairy Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mickies Dairy Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mickies Dairy Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.