We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to hangout in the evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erin's Snug Irish Pub

Erin's Snug Irish Pub
4601 American Pkwy, Madison, WI 53718
608-242-7616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 772 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place to hangout in the evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have been to Erin's few times recently and it is a nice place to hangout in the evenings. Drinks are ok and snacks are good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    72
    17
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I've been to this place a couple of times now. The food is delicious and very Irish. The staff was very knowledgeable about the different food choices

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
2 reviews
“A+ Excellent for fine dining, drinks and social atmosphere all in one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Madison is lucky to have many fine dining choices and quality bar/social atmospheres. However, few establishments do both well. Erin's really has it all in one place and is one of my favorite places in Madison to dine and/or have a drink and socialize. The atmosphere is warm, dark and inviting. The beer selection is outstanding (Potosi is one of my favorites). The decor is unique and very well done. There is also a very nice outdoor seating area for summer. Some of my favorite dishes at Erin's are the Guinness stew, shepherd's pie, jumbo shrimp and the Friday fish fry. I'm not usually a steak person but I am sort of a foodie. In the last 12 months I have tried what I heard were the top five, been around forever and "known for steaks" Madison restaurants. Recently at Erin's, the waiter asked me with a big grin, "Have you ever tried our steaks?" I hadn't, so I tried the filet. I had eaten there numerous times and never thought about ordering steak in an rish pub. The filet at Erin's was the hands down flavor winner over the more well known steak places. It was good sized, very flavorful, mildly smokey and cut with a butter knife. And cost 50% less than some of the "known for steaks" places. Very impressive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly, Fast and Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great and quick take-out service. Had the Ceasar with calamari and the Southwest Chicken Salad. Both delicious and ample portions. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing Food, Beautiful Place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had dinner here with two other travelers while on business in Madison. The parking lot was completely full, and so I had high hopes for a great dinner. When we got parked and inside, we found that the restaurant was hosting a few Christmas parties (the layout for the parties looked nice). The restaurant itself is really beautiful – it is decorated in dark colors like you would expect from an Irish Pub, but still very bright and clean.

I had the Kelly’s Top Sirloin with Rosemary Glaze (sauce recommended by our server). I ordered medium rare, and it came out rare (and less than rare for some bites). The Rosemary glaze was pretty good, but the sautéed vegetables were really bland like they were from the freezer section of the grocery store. I ordered the Guinness Chocolate Cake for dessert – it was really disappointing, dry and pretty flavorless.

The bright side of dinner was that the beers were cold and the atmosphere was nice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erin's Snug Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Erin's Snug Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erin's Snug Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.