We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located, impeccably professional--and continually working to improve.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club to your Saves list
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles
1 review
“Perfectly located, impeccably professional--and continually working to improve.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Concourse annually for about the past fifteen years; we attended UW and still have good friends in Madison. The quality of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff have never faltered. The location in downtown Madison, on Capitol Square, a short walk from the campus, can't be beat for convenience. And the lake-view rooms are a treat. The quality of the furnishings have kept pace with the times. And so has the equipment in the gym.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    226
    56
    17
    8
See reviews for
123
253
44
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

The Concourse Hotel is a beautiful & convenient place to stay in downtown Madison. The hotel itself offers everything you need, including pool & workout facilities, a great restaurant & bar, room service, a welcoming lobby, & a parking garage. The staff is friendly & accomodating, even facilitating the delivery of milk & cookies to our room upon our arrival! The location cannot be beat, as it is just one block from State Street & the Capitol Square. You can stay at the Concourse, park your car, & walk to all the great restaurants, shopping & other attractions in the downtown/University area. We love it for family week-end getaways!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful time at The Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club and will most assuredly return. Everyone from the receptionists who greeted us to those in the Governor's Club and staff who cleaned our room were very nice and accommodating. I surprised my wife for her birthday and she was truly impressed. Our stay was fun and relaxing. The workout area was great, as were the pool and sauna. We enjoyed cocktails before heading out on a casual walk to the nearby Fresco restaurant for dinner and then a musical at the Overture. On Sunday, the continental breakfast was great as well and a terrific way to start off our day.
The room was comfortable and offered a beautiful view of the Capitol. I wish we could have stayed more than a weekend, but it was much fun, nevertheless. Kudos to all who work at the Concourse. You have a wonderful establishment that truly caters to those looking for an enjoyable stay in Madison. I am hopeful of our return at some point soon and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

The Madison Concourse Hotel is one of my favorite hotels, definitely my number one choice when staying in Madison, WI. The hotel has amazing customer service, the beds are divine and facilities are excellent. My suggestion would be to upgrade to a Governor's Club room-totally worth every cent. Upon arrival we were treated to complimentary top shelf cocktails (6 hours in the evening!) and hors d' oeuvers in the private Governor's Club lounge (the view is AMAZING). Dan, the bartender, makes a sassy lemon drop martini:) We were in Madison for a girl's weekend-and enjoyed every minute. The Concourse is right in the center of everything "Madison" (State Street, The Capitol, University of WI campus, The Overture Center, tons of nightlife. The next morning, after sleeping so good (the only hotel where I find the bed to be better than my own at home) we had a tasty complimentary continental breakfast-available in the GC lounge. When staying in Madison, I tell everyone about this place...It's such a decadent treat.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IL.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

If you are looking for the perfect location in Madison. This is it! Rooms are spotless and the service can't be beat. Perfect for a long weekend or a business trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in 2008 October and I have to say that its a decent place to stay, especially if you want to be within walking distance of the University and Capitol. I chose to get a room with a view of the Capitol and the views, especially at night were quite amazing! The staff were very cordial and easy to work with. I needed to get my sheets replaced (fault was mine, since I had left my DND sign on the door when I headed out) and get some toothpaste. One call to the front desk and the cleaning lady was there within 10 minutes to replace the sheets.

Since I was pretty much exhausted by the time I got back, I ordered room service and the food I should say was very good! It was a pleasant surprise, especially since I am vegetarian and don't eat meat or seafood. I ordered a pizza, sandwich, panini during the course of my stay and liked all 3 items.

The front desk staff are very friendly and the hotel has a business center where you can get print outs or send/receive faxes in case you need to, which I found to be a blessing since I was traveling on business and needed to get printouts at least 2 or 3 times while I was there.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

This was the first time we visited Madison and what a great city! My husband's cousin lives here and told us about the Concourse Hotel. He said they have great reputation so we decided to give it a try. What a treat!
The location was awesome! It's so close to everything. My daughter loves the Children's Museum and the Historical Museum, both only a block or so away. The staff were so helpful and catered to all of our needs (trust me, with a small child, you appreciate all the help and kindness you can get). The people at the desk even gave my daughter a little toy to play with!
The room was comfortable and very clean. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't ever want to leave. My next mattress at home would be the exact same one they use (I made a note).
The pool was kid-friendly as well. We really enjoyed ourselves.
Everything was perfect and we can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#11 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.