We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but just not quite 5 stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club to your Saves list
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, but just not quite 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I stayed at the Madison Concourse Hotel for a work conference in July 2014. I had a regular room but did receive Governor's Club passes due to my role with the conference.

The room at the Concourse was quite nicely appointed but there were a couple of problems that make this less than 5 star. First, the cleaning is not very thorough as evidenced by spider webs in corners. Second, the closet is quite small. Finally, the AC unit is an older style and very loud so that I couldn't have it running at night.

Just about everything else at the Concourse is very fine - free wifi that worked well throughout the building, plenty of on-site parking (not free), good food & beverage service, very attentive conference & meeting staff.

One other downer is that I expected the Governor's Club lounge to be upscale, especially when it indicated that "appropriate attire" was required. Apparently "appropriate attire" includes jeans shorts and t-shirts, which is hardly my idea of an upscale environment. It also didn't help that soft drinks are self-serve cans instead of from the bar. Honestly, there's not really much to the Governor's Club lounge other than free booze and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    204
    53
    16
    7
See reviews for
108
224
41
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was in Madison for a conference for 4 days and at the last moment a vacancy opened up at the conference hotel - the Madison Concourse. I wasn't expecting much (go to conferences often and thee conference hotels tend to be just a little above average for the most part), but I was consistently pleased across the board.

Arrived late at night and hungry, and the bar was still open and serving food. Great service, freshly cooked, juicy chicken adorned my Caesar salad. It was excellent.Each morning there was a hot breakfast in the Governor's Club (included with rooms on floors 12-14). They also had cocktail hour every day at 5, including an array of appetizers. If so inclined you could make a meal of them. The Club was open early til late and stocked with coffee/tea/sodas and cookies. Each night at 8 they had a variety of desserts. The quality of all the foods was above average to excellent. The conference included meals as well - which were also significantly better than I anticipated. Vegetables still crisp, meats not overdone nor dry, plenty of salad, and more desserts.

The room was large and well appointed. Large flat screen tv, several phones. Wasn't in room very much as conference activities were ongoing, but slept very well on great bed. They were just remodeling a health club, but the existing one wasn't too shabby. Also had a nice pool and jacuzzi as well as a sauna. Makes my day when a hotel has a sauna! Each evening there was turndown service, offering chocolate and refilling your ice buckets, etc. Nice touch.

Staff were always cheerful and helpful. Eager to point out things to do locally. Our conference actually started Saturday session a little late so that we could attend the largest farmer's market in the country ringing the state capital, only two blocks away. Was very impressive, even in early June there were great displays of local produce, and across the street were food vendors should you want prepared food. At 8am the market was packed. If you're in the are it is worth enjoying.

Room Tip: I didn't spend much time in the room, although my room did look over the lake, it was quite nice...
See more room tips
Green Features: As is a growing trend, you can hang up your own towels (they nicely fold them and return them to your rack) or leave them on the floor and they are replaced.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel feels so central that even if you are not in need of being downtown it would still be fun. You can walk to many restaurants, the rooms are updated and clean and everyone was so friendly during check in. A nice greeting is much appreciated and our person that checked us in was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It had been a long since my last visit to Madison and I was very impressed with both the city and the Concourse. The area around the Capitol building is beautiful. Lots of great restaurants. Walk over to the UW campus, it is worth the hike. The Concourse is in a great location. The hotel is obviously old but the room we stayed in was very up to date. As some other reviews have said, it is worth paying a little more and staying on the Governors Club floors. The Capitol building is lighted at night so I would suggest requesting a room that looks out on the Capitol. The other rooms look to one of the two lakes that surround Madison and there is certainly nothing wrong with those views.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I splurged a bit and stayed on the 12th floor and the Governors Club. They had an open bar from 4:30pm to 10:30pm; hot appetizers followed by dessert at 9pm; Continental breakfast with hot eggs the next morning from 6:00 to 9:30am. Beautiful view of the state capital building from the club. Great access to the Monona Lake Terrace and to State Street for a large selection of bars, restaurants, and shops... all walking distance. Huge wedding party in the club... lots of fun. The venue is not 5 stars by any comparison (most likely a 4)... but it still rates an excellent... and from our perspective... highly recommendable. Enjoy

Room Tip: great indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This our number one pick for our visits to Madison. We have stayed here many times with friends. Always on the governor's flight which is the top floors of the hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. These floors are restricted which makes it feel more exclusive and also includes a small bar on the upper level which is only accessible to those who stay on the governor's flight.These rooms are a bit pricey but worth it if you enjoy a little extra privacy.
The hotel is right next to the capital and close to many restaurants bars and shops with an amazing view of the capital building.
Staff is always friendly and professional.
The decor may not be as up to date as new hotels but it does feel like you're staying in a piece of history.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Concourse. I stayed here for two nights while in town for a wedding. The location is excellent...right downtown, within walking distance of square, Capitol, and State Street. Everyone I came into contact with at the hotel was extremely friendly, outgoing, and helpful. The rooms have all been recently renovated. Everything is nice and new and the room was very clean. Loved the updated look. Bathroom was excellent for a hotel bathroom...Bath & Body Works toiletries, great shower! Room service was great and quick. I was expecting to have to take a cab to wedding location and was offered a complimentary shuttle and was able to call for a pick up. My only tip would be to check into nearby parking ramps for parking. The hotel does have underground parking, but the stalls are very tight and it has several large concrete columns that create blind spots. Overall, can't beat the location and service. I've stayed in many hotels and would definitely come back to this one. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.