We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel in the Heart of Madison, WI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club to your Saves list
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midwest, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel in the Heart of Madison, WI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for an overnight visit to Madison. Parking and check-in were easy and fast. Warm, friendly staff (it's weird having people actually say hello to you when you enter an establishment, I suppose I've lived in large cities for too long!) The room itself was quite spacious and immaculate, with a comfy bed and a bathroom fully stocked with amenities. It was very quiet, in fact I never heard anything or anyone until I left the room. The only "dings" I would give this property are for the ubiquitous poles in the underground parking lot (had to get the car out a very tight spot right next to one, but I was able to manage) and the restaurant breakfast (good but not great, tasty enough though if you don't feel like going out). The hotel is just across the street from the state capital building and in the heart of all the downtown Madison action. I highly recommend this property, it is worth the extra $$ and easily beats most of the local hotels for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    204
    52
    17
    7
See reviews for
107
224
41
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is a little tired -- musty smell in the hallway, room air conditioner very loud, bathroom clean but could use updating. I wasn't in the Governor's Club, maybe that would be nicer. Location is great for accessing downtown, the Capitol and the University. On my last day, a large conference group came in and the front desk was overwhelmed. I don't think I'd pick this place if I had to visit Madison again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great hotel, every detail is great. We slept really well in comfortable beds with luxurious sheets. Super clean, well maintained.The food the service, the location all five stars,perfect place to stay in the downtown area.
If I were ever to return to Madison, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookneal, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I just attended a conference at the Madison Concourse. It was the hotel selected by the conference committe and boy did they do a great job. The hotel staff were remarkably friendly and efficient, and very affordable. They assisted my every need from helping me resolve issues with my laptop not connecting to wireless to providing great shuttle service. The Concourse is very conviently located close by the Capital building and all the restaurantes and shops on State Street.

I WILL BE GOING BACK WITH MY WIFE JUST TO ENJOY THE HOTEL AND THE CITY.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

As a Madison native, I've never had much opportunity to stay at any hometown hotels. Now that I live in Massachusetts, I need a good option for visits to see my family. I think I've found my home base at the Concourse. From the moment we straggled in to this centrally located (couldn't ask for a better location) Madison favorite after unloading a moving truck all day, we felt at home and well cared for. The youthful front desk staff is very good at their job, putting us at ease and we felt welcome. I had chosen the Governor's Club for a stay so that we could have the option of happy hour cocktails, as well as a very important breakfast in the morning, and I am so glad we did. Zachary the bartender in the Governor's Club not only mixes a tight Old Fashioned, but he was so interesting to talk to that we could have just sat at the bar forever and chatted. Breakfast the next day was a very thorough (and tasty) spread of Wisconsin-style danish and kringle, as well as requisite yogurts and cereals, but also Bloodies and good coffee. Our room was great, with a view of the Capitol, a raised King with perfect sheets and pillows (you know what I mean), and very nice toiletries. The best part? The window actually opens, only a little, but just enough to make me happy. The pool and the fitness center looked great, and that's on the agenda for next time. We didn't park a car, so I can't speak to the garage, but did you notice they rent bikes? Welcome to Madison:) Love it.

Room Tip: The Governor's Club is a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I did not choose to stay here - this is where the conference was located. It was however, a very good choice. Generally when I travel for business the first night is not very restful - new noises, different bed, etc. and I end up yawning my way through the next days meetings. That was not the case when I stayed here. Quiet rooms, great matresses, the best pillows I have ever had in a hotel setting and wonderful, friendly staff.
Very happy this was the chosen hotel - When I need to go to Madison for business or pleasure, this would be my choice of places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed here about 5 times over the past ten years and have never been disappointed. Last weekend I purchased a suite for my parents on their 50th wedding anniversary. Everything was great! Soon after I got them into their room there was a knock on the door and there was a bottle of complimentary champagne! My folks loved the Governor's club bar for cocktails before dinner and for brunch the next morning. The staff was just great at check in and my parents even commented on how nice it was to have a professional bartender in the Governor's club. Well done Concourse Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.