We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely One To Recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club to your Saves list
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Definitely One To Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It was my first trip to Madison and I really enjoyed the city. The Concourse was so centrally located it made sight-seeing a breeze in the limited time I had.

Between the lakes, the shops and restaurants and the Capitol building being right there I was truly steps away from it all.

The hotel itself was clean, comfortable and the staff very gracious. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    204
    53
    16
    7
See reviews for
108
224
41
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is located next to the State Capitol building which makes it attractive to tourists, civil service folks and business people alike. The reception/lobby is basic but the staff is warm and friendly. The underground parking lot is adequate. While the room itself has a modern feel, the hallways need some updating. You can sense the slight musty smell. Nevertheless, it is a short walking distance to State Street, the heart of downtown Madison. I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The best hotel in Madison. A friendly, helpful staff. Perfect location, with excellent restaurants and the Capitol building outside the door, and the University a short walk away down State Street. There is also a shuttle. We have stayed in many different rooms over several years and have liked them all. All of the rooms are immaculate, comfortable beds. The view of the Wisconsin State Capitol Building from the rooms is beautiful and ever changing with the light of the day. A work of art. The hotel's restaurant is very good, three meals a day. Our favorite rooms are the Governor's Club rooms because in addition to an amazing view, they include a complimentary breakfast, and afternoon cocktails, hors d'oeuvres and desserts. Together with the welcoming staff, it feels to us like a place to come home to at the end of a busy day in Madison.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Concourse for a wedding. We enjoyed the stay - highlights to this property are the location, which is conveniently located on the Square next to the capitol and walking distance to the lake. The hotel staff were friendly, though a little overwhelmed at our Friday evening check in as there were a lot of guests checking in at the same time. (We were given complimentary parking as a result of the wait.) At check in, we upgraded to the Governor's level with concierge access. The room was fine, though the bathroom was small and perhaps in need of an update sooner or later. Nonetheless, the price was reasonable. The concierge level provided a decent hot breakfast and affords great views. For the price, it was a convenient way to fill up before starting our day in the city. The hotel is one of the few higher rise buildings in Madison, though its a bit of an eyesore from outside, it's pleasant and enjoyable inside. Though the hotel had numerous amenities - salon, pool, etc., we did not use them as the weather was so nice. I would recommend requesting a high level floor to get the best views of the lake or city.

Room Tip: Request a high level floor and renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the Madison Concourse for a multi-day conference. From check in to check out, the concierge, the conference staff, the bar, restaurant and bellhops were friendly, efficient, and ready to share information about their hotel and city. Everyone seemed to be on a mission to both make sure guests didn't spend much time waiting and also have fun. I had some emotional news the first day, and the pastry chef surprised me greatly by handing me a delicious chocolate-chocalate chip cookie and said "I see you are having a tough day and wanted to give you a cookie." I regret that I was so surprised that I didn't get her name. I would highly recommend this hotel and it's terrific staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at the Concourse for 3 nights for a family wedding. Everything was excellent. Shuttle to and from airport and also anywhere within a mile in the city. The location is perfect about a block from the capital bldg. and not far from the university campus. Lots to do and see and two lakes within walking distance. Rooms were clean, bright and plenty of towels and pillows. Large bathroom, desk, table everything that you need, including wireless internet. Pool and hot tub area along with exercise room and a game room. Bar and restaurant were good and prices were ok too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed at the Madison Concourse for a conference close by. Clean, spacious and comfortable room. Lots of pillows and very soft sheets. Quick and friendly front desk. Reasonably priced parking on site. I would certainly stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.