We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Food is Good in Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club to your Saves list
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairview, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location and Food is Good in Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here in May and the location is great , right downtown near the Capital and other sights.
Hotel has a good restaurant and food is excellent.
Stayed on top floor and had a great view of one of the lakes .
Costs are in line with any downtown hotel.

Room Tip: stay on the top floors worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    242
    59
    18
    8
See reviews for
137
272
47
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
253 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

In a nutshell, this hotel offers location and quality rest. It is quiet, both inside:outside and room to room. The beds and such are not top shelf, but are very good. It is a block or so away from the Capitol (Wisconsin), and blocks from many highly considered restaurants.

The bar has attentive and warm but technically (in a true cocktail sense) untrained tenders (or equally likely, they have been trained by management to serve mediocre drinks). Indeed, the latter is more likely, because the restaurant delivers similar results. The service is warm (though the restaurant empty), but the food is mostly completely uninspiring. Crispy calamari is served with a marinara sauce that is the blandest and most innocuous I have ever encountered. Delicious broiled scallops are served with equally bland sauces in inadequate quantity over a squid ink colored but equally bland risotto. These failures are in the kitchen and with management, not with service.

Changes in the bar and kitchen aimed at producing top grade (not watery and flavorless) cocktails and interesting sauces would go a long way into making this a top rank hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Capitol view, may have to pay extra (I didn't).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was there for the ANI State training on Thursday and Friday and then my husband joined me for the weekend. It was very comfortable in both rooms and the transition from my working stay to my leisure stay was seamless! My colleagues and I enjoyed the training, food and all the ammenities. And my husband and I enjoyed everything as well! Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms that connect to each other are great for those who come for training because they can easi...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is definitely environmentally-friendly by asking us to reuse towels if at all possible.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Concourse Hotel has the Governor's Club which is worth the extra expense if you "enjoy a few cocktails". There are hors d'oeuvres around 5 pm and a dessert buffet right before the open bar closes. There is a small, hot breakfast buffet in the morning which has great coffee!

The rooms are clean and modern. The pillows are pretty hard so you may want to bring your own.

The location is perfect for downtown excursions. Even though it rained while we walked to our destinations the hotel offered us huge umbrellas to keep us dry.

Underground parking is included.

The actual restaurant is very good, but a little expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to Madison recently for a weekend get away with my husband, this hotel is at the center of downtown and walking distance to the restaurants’ and bars we wanted to visit. The hotel is very nice and the staff was friendly. Made the reservation through a 3rd party website for a king room, when we got here they front personnel said it was for 2 queens, but was able to give us a king room on an upgraded floor with no additional cost. The rooms where nice and I enjoyed relaxing before dinner in the indoor pool/hot tub.
We did not eat at the hotel, so am not sure about the food at their restaurants or bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Tickets to a show at the Overture made us decide to just make it a getaway and stay in town for the night. We chose the Concourse because of it's location and we were no disappointed at all. Stayed in the Governor's Club which is the way to go. There is open bar time with hors d'oeuvres and a continental breakfast in the morning. We were greeted at the door when we arrived by a very friendly staff. The bartender was absolutely awesome and had tons of information about places to stop at while in town. The room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable which is hard to find in a hotel. We will be back Thank you Madison Concourse for making our stay so special!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The door locks to the rooms are broken and they poison people with food at their large receptions. They do not care if the guests are old or pregnant as they will still serve the contaminated food. Do NOT stay or eat at The Madison Concourse Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Madison hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madison Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Edgewater
The Edgewater
#8 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Madison
Hyatt Place Madison
#12 of 63 in Madison
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Madison Monona Terrace
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn on the Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#11 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.