We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opt For the Upgrade!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Save Saved
You added Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Opt For the Upgrade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Concourse Hotel has the Governor's Club which is worth the extra expense if you "enjoy a few cocktails". There are hors d'oeuvres around 5 pm and a dessert buffet right before the open bar closes. There is a small, hot breakfast buffet in the morning which has great coffee!

The rooms are clean and modern. The pillows are pretty hard so you may want to bring your own.

The location is perfect for downtown excursions. Even though it rained while we walked to our destinations the hotel offered us huge umbrellas to keep us dry.

Underground parking is included.

The actual restaurant is very good, but a little expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    189
    49
    16
    7
See reviews for
97
209
41
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went to Madison recently for a weekend get away with my husband, this hotel is at the center of downtown and walking distance to the restaurants’ and bars we wanted to visit. The hotel is very nice and the staff was friendly. Made the reservation through a 3rd party website for a king room, when we got here they front personnel said it was for 2 queens, but was able to give us a king room on an upgraded floor with no additional cost. The rooms where nice and I enjoyed relaxing before dinner in the indoor pool/hot tub.
We did not eat at the hotel, so am not sure about the food at their restaurants or bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Tickets to a show at the Overture made us decide to just make it a getaway and stay in town for the night. We chose the Concourse because of it's location and we were no disappointed at all. Stayed in the Governor's Club which is the way to go. There is open bar time with hors d'oeuvres and a continental breakfast in the morning. We were greeted at the door when we arrived by a very friendly staff. The bartender was absolutely awesome and had tons of information about places to stop at while in town. The room was beautiful and the bed was so comfortable which is hard to find in a hotel. We will be back Thank you Madison Concourse for making our stay so special!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The door locks to the rooms are broken and they poison people with food at their large receptions. They do not care if the guests are old or pregnant as they will still serve the contaminated food. Do NOT stay or eat at The Madison Concourse Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to the Henry Vilas Zoo, partied on state street, shopped for gifts, roamed the Capitol building, and played in the Childrens museum as well as swimming and eating in the Hotel. This hotel was fun, friendly, affordable, and the staff were helpful and the shuttle was an unexpected perk. A great place to stay and a great town to play in for all ages.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor with a view of the capital building
See more room tips
Green Features: I chose this hotel over others because --> They are involved in recycling, composting, water and energy efficiency, and the use of non-toxic paints and pest control.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Comfortable, well-appointed, well-managed hotel right near the State Capitol and the University of Wisconsin campus. Good=sized rooms, helpful staff. Free shuttle to airport. decent fitness area. Worth splurging for the Governor's Club floor and accompanying food and drink.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
funbug05
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights while attending a conference. Paid the little extra for the Governor's Club. It is well worth it. The breakfast includes two hot selections and spectacular pastries. The pecan bars were fabulous. The evening cocktail hours included cold and hot hours d'oeuvre and all you wanted to drink. Excellent value.

My room had a very comfortable king bed and two very comfortable lounge chairs with a big couch like foot rest. Also, there was nightly turn down service with chocolates. Lastly, the bathroom had a walk-in, glass door shower. Very, very nice and clean. For $169 per night, you couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the Governor's Lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#11 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.