We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Save Saved
You added Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Madison
GreenLeadersBronze level
funbug05
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights while attending a conference. Paid the little extra for the Governor's Club. It is well worth it. The breakfast includes two hot selections and spectacular pastries. The pecan bars were fabulous. The evening cocktail hours included cold and hot hours d'oeuvre and all you wanted to drink. Excellent value.

My room had a very comfortable king bed and two very comfortable lounge chairs with a big couch like foot rest. Also, there was nightly turn down service with chocolates. Lastly, the bathroom had a walk-in, glass door shower. Very, very nice and clean. For $169 per night, you couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Go for rooms in the Governor's Lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    189
    49
    16
    7
See reviews for
97
209
41
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great location right on capital square. Walking distance to everything, lots of restaurants, shopping and the amazing capital building. The Governor's Club room is the best value going! The club lounge hosts an open bar in the evening (all evening!) with a great view of the city and the capital building, dessert and coffee later in the evening and a great breakfast too! Rooms are spacious and have comfortable beds and great linens, clean, updated and quiet. Everyone we met on staff, was helpful and very nice. We didn't eat at the restaurant on site, but were told by locals that it is very good. Would (and have) highly recommend the Governor's Club rooms at this property for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Go with the Governor's Club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and friendly staff. The hotel are located mid. town Madison 5 min. walk from the Capitol building. Valet parking, free WIFI. Cousy room and a good bed. You will find a selection of good restaurants in the neighboor hood. The best pick for a really good restaurant is the Tornado Room. Possible the best place in Madison. Highly recommended. I will for sure stay at the Concourse hotel during my next visit to Madison.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I live just a mile away from the Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, but we stay there at least 2 or 3 times a year for a nice getaway. We always book a Governor's Club room, so that we can enjoy the Governor's Club lounge. For birthdays and anniversaries, this is always our go-to.

The rooms are great, the staff is great, and the service is great. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've been going to the Concourse for years. I love the location - you cannot beat it. The hotel is great - always very well kept. I've always thought of it as a premier hotel in Madison. This time visiting, my opinion has changed. Don't get me wrong - the hotel itself is nice. Very clean, the rooms are up to date and modern. The pool and workout area is great.
However, the staff - wow, very disappointing. During the entire stay, we were never acknowledged by anyone. We passed the front desk multiple times and never received a greeting. We'd share an elevator with their staff and they would not even look at us. As someone who used to work in a hotel for years, I can tell you a little 'good morning' can go a long way. It's like they didn't want to be there. The house keeping staff was the nicest group; however, their uniforms were all un-matching. I couldn't even tell if one woman worked there. She had a long button down t-shirt that was wide open - she looked like she was in her pajamas. She approached my room to clean it, I thought she was just a guest - no name tag or anything. There was one point where I saw a manager pass us - again, did not look at us, but went straight to the front desk to talk to them about his family and what they did that week. He did not say anything to the guests that were passing him, just engaged with the staff on personal conversations.
I sincerely hope their management is reading this and chooses to invest in Hospitality 101 for their staff. Again, such a great hotel - it's a shame their reputation is at risk with their lackluster service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieLaBella, Guest Relations Manager at Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Creating a warm and welcoming environment for our guests is very important to us. A welcoming experience certainly starts with smiling and greeting everyone that is in the hotel. We take the feedback we receive from our guests seriously. We shared your feedback with our entire staff as part of our ongoing service training program when you first shared your review with us.

We never want our guests to leave unhappy and will always do whatever we can to make things right. If you would be willing to give us another opportunity to take care of you, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me at 608-294-3004 or via email at slabella@concoursehotel.com. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Best wishes,
Stephanie LaBella, Director of Guest Engagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel! My family and I have great memories here!! We always have the delicious brunch on Easter. We also love the fun pool here! We've stayed here lots of times and its always been great! The rooms are nice and the whole place is always clean. My Uncle also works here so that's fun!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

stayed for a business trip & was pleased. The staff was beyond helpful to his out-of-towner, in letting me know where to go & how to get there, etc. The pub onsite had fantastic food. The room was alright, needed some maintenance work, but was well furnished & decorated modernly, which was a pleasant surprise from the usual drab decor of some places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#11 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.