We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club to your Saves list
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Madison
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oregon, Wisconsin
1 review
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed at the hotel for years and especially love the Governor's Club. The staff was very welcoming from the time we checked in and continued on when we felt at home in the lounge. The rooms are beautiful and we loved the view of the capitol. We love the location downtown and enjoy walking through campus and state street. We look forward to our next visit getting away.................not so far from home!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    206
    55
    16
    8
See reviews for
109
233
42
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is right in Madison. It has comfortable beds, and is very clean. The elevators are busy, and we had to wait quite a bit for them. We went for a wedding, and if you stay in the Govenor Suites, you have private elevators and have to escort any guests to your room. There is plenty of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. Parking is available under hotel. The restaurant in the hotel had good food. The reception was in a hotel banquet area, and was lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at the Concourse Hotel for one night, and the experience was excellent. The shuttle from the airport was prompt and the driver was very friendly. Check-in was quick and informative, and I was in my 10th floor room an hour after landing at the airport. The room (a King with a small sitting area) was spacious and clean. The bathroom had a large shower with excellent water pressure (though it had no bathtub). I ordered dinner from the room service menu and it arrived hot, quickly, and was very good. The bed was extremely comfortable and check-out was as smooth as check-in!

The best part of the Concourse is the location. You are literally steps away from the Capitol and State Street shopping.

Room Tip: Some travelers reported views of the lake- mine faced the city, so make sure to ask if you want a wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Impressed by the food, staff and the location of this hotel. The room was fine (in Governor's Club) although the rooms will need some updating soon. No bath but a HUGE walk-in shower!
Bed was comfortable and room was clean. The internet was NOT good enough and the hotel's response was somewhat inadequate. internet is wireless, but there should be the option for an ethernet connection in each room.
Food for breakfast was fine, not spectacular. Too many carbs!
Lunch in the main restaurant on the ground floor was much better. FABULOUS salad bar for under $10.00
Close to the centre of city so lots of other dining options. Excellent shuttle service to and from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Concourse Hotel in Madison was recommended to us and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there this past weekend. We arrived several hours early and to our surprise a room was ready for us to check into. During check-in the front desk hotel staff was very helpful and gave us several maps and suggestions for dining. We ate all of our breakfasts at the hotel restaurant (they do not have free breakfast but we thought the hotel restaurant was convenient, good food and fairly priced). The room was very nice, clean and with comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The location is excellent - we parked in the hotel parking lot underneath the hotel and walked to everything the rest of the weekend. This was our first visit to Madison and I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay on the VIP 11th Floor. We have traveled a lot, including international, but our room at the Concourse was absolutely TOP notch - super comfy bed and a fantastic view of the Capital Dome, with Lake Mendota in the background! And the Governor's club - fantastic - great happy hour, hot appetizers brought out fresh! The morning breakfast was really nice as well - if you love hot cinnamon buns, you gotta try the cinnamon buns at the Governor's lounge.

Room Tip: For a fantastic view of the capital and the city, highly recommend the VIP 11th floor or above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Attended a conference in Madison that was based out of the Madison Concourse Hotel. I was impressed by the professionalism of the staff on check-in, the well appointed rooms, and the hotel's location (downtown and close to lots of attractions). I wouldn't hesitate to choose to stay here again-it good value and a quality place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.