We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Madison Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club to your Saves list
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Madison
1 review
“Great Madison Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I've stayed at the Madison Concourse for both work and pleasure many times  and have had lots of great experiences in this local hotel located just around the corner from the Capitol square and State Street.  I attended a wedding reception last year and the hospitality room it was held in was spacious and provided a great space for the celebration. Last summer, after my apartment burned down, I stayed at the Concourse for six weeks.  My room was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful, making sure I had everything I needed.  I've also attended and helped plan a number of meetings at the hotel and have found the staff is flexible when it comes to the meeting arrangements.  And the food is consistently good.  The Sunday brunch has so many tasty things to choose from,  the catering menu has a variety of options and The Bar has a good happy hour with some of the best cheese curds in the state.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    225
    56
    17
    8
See reviews for
123
253
44
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I've been fortunate to stay at the Concourse on numerous occasions for conferences and a wedding. Every time, the staff has been exemplary and the rooms fantastic. On my latest stay, I stayed on the ninth floor and the room was extremely clean and well maintained. They used to have these fantastic orange-scented toiletries, but those have since been replaced by Bath and Body Works ones. :( The facilities for events and meetings are also top-notch and their banquet servers and bartenders were some of the most professional I have seen. If you want a great experience in Madison and don't mind paying a bit more, the Concourse is a great choice - you'll be supporting a local business too!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Governor's Club if you're able.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

While the lobby and exterior of the hotel is a bit dated, the many of the rooms (including mine) have had a recent re-fresh.

While this can't compare to a Hilton or the like, I enjoyed my stay at the Concourse. It's a 2 minute walk from the Capitol and many great restaurants.

Staff are friendly and the bar and restaurant in the hotel are much better than they look. Be sure to have some of the local microbrews (like Spotted Cow).

Beds are REALLY comfortable.

Wifi is free and fast!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed at the Concourse Hotel July 2011 for business. I had a room on the governor's club level and was pleasantly surprised. The governor's club has its own elevator and a private lounge to enjoy a relaxing evening. My room was 1407 and had a view of Lake Mendota. There was a nightly turndown service that included filling of my ice bucket and the room attendants responded quickly to my request. Regrettably, I did not try the Dayton Street Grille but I was told the food there is good. The front desk staff was very courteous and helpful. I hope to have the opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Great hotel room on the 14th floor. Van driver from hotel was great also from Hawaii originally. The only thing is room service is a little expensive even with the 10% discount.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Michigan, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is an older hotel but clean, well kept and all of the staff from the airport shuttle driver to the bell man to the front desk to the housekeeping staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms are large and the bathrooms clean and spacious. No complaints.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is an older hotel trying hard to be something it isn't. It wants...really, really badly--to be a luxury hotel. It isn't, and it won't be unless management puts some serious money into it. The public spaces are dated. The rooms have a few updated touches--like a flat screen television--but overall are also dated, especially the bathrooms. Mine had a lot of grime and use built into it that no amount of daily cleaning can hide.

On the plus side, the stuff is helpful and friendly. The restaurant has been modernized and has a sleek look an appealing menu--though I can't comment on the quality of the food.

I suppose to sum it up--I ran across advertising offering the opportunity to purchase the mattress. Its sort of like somebody associated with the Madison Councourse stayed at a Westin and saw that they were selling Heavenly Beds and decided "we should too." Except that the mattress was certainly not heavenly. It was actually slightly less than comfortable.

The Hilton across the Capitol is a better choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club

Address: 1 West Dayton Street, Madison, WI 53703-2582
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Madison
#2 Green Hotel in Madison
#3 Romantic Hotel in Madison
#10 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 373
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Madison’s hotel. Our staying power is confirmed by our long-standing dedication to being downtown Madison’s premier hotel and we are proud to be named Best Hotel for Business and Pleasure by Madison Magazine. We offer our guests a special Madison experience through our distinctive customer focus and perfect location that cannot be found at a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Concourse Hotel And Governors
Concourse Hotel Madison Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.