We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit dispointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Madison South

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Madison South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Madison South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1602 West Beltine Highway, I-90 Exit 142A, Madison, WI 53713   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 63 hotels in Madison
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    80
    39
    8
    6
See reviews for
85
38
19
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend while in Madison to attend the UW Badger football game. The hotel is a 10 minute cab ride from the campus/capitol. This makes is a good alternative for those who either want to save a few bucks or when the capitol hotels are booked up. There are a number of restaurant options within walking distance and couple bars as well.

This Super 8 was a little nicer than I expected it to be. The lobby/breakfast was modern, spacious and clean. The young gentlemen, Alan, that checked me in was very friendly and informative, despite the fact that he had just had a scary encounter with someone trying to pass counterfeit bills. He made me aware of the 10% discount available to hotel guests at the nearby Perkins and provided phone numbers for the local cab companies that we would need the next day.

The hotel has an elevator which was a welcome suprise with our room being on the 2nd floor. The room was pretty standard. Two queens beds, which were comfortable enough. Some of the rooms have the updated linens shown in pictures here, but this room did not have those yet. Water pressure in the shower was a little weak.

The television was a large flat screen. Many of the cable channels were not available and showing an error. The mini fridge worked great. The free in room wi-fi worked well and could be accessed without a password. I was pleased to see that more than one network was available to guests to avoid problems that can come when a hotel full of people are all trying to access the web through a single router.

Breakfast was a simple continental set up. There was a waffle making station, coffee, juice, toast, cereal, fruit, cinamon buns and hard boiled eggs. We did not use the pool or work out facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8-MadisonSouth, General Manager at Super 8 Madison South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and for completing your detailed review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay. I apologize that you experienced a problem with your television programming. We have since resolved this issue. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were just passing through and needed a place to stay. They were very accommodating and the place was clean and comfortable at a very reasonable price! We were very happy with our experience here and would definitely recommend it to others!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8-MadisonSouth, General Manager at Super 8 Madison South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with the Super 8 - Madison South and for taking the time to complete a guest review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and we look forward to providing for your lodging needs the next time you are passing through Madison, WI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Terrible, next time will pay more money to stay somewhere else. Awful accessibility for my husband in a wheelchair. Terrible furniture, barely enough space for his wheelchair to get between the bed and TV stand. Very uncomfortable, 1 desk chair and 1 hard old broken recliner. Must say bathroom was amazing for handicap people, that and the gentleman that checked me in were the only good things about this stay. I told them when I booked the room my husband was having surgery and he was in a wheelchair, you would think they would have put a little more thought into our room. NEVER STAYING AGAIN.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8-MadisonSouth, General Manager at Super 8 Madison South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments regarding your stay. I apologize that your room did not meet your needs. Our goal is to continually improve upon our hotel to provide a consistent great experience for all of our guests. We are noting your comments for future remodeling plans. We hope that you will give our hotel another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Madison South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Madison South

Address: 1602 West Beltine Highway, I-90 Exit 142A, Madison, WI 53713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Madison
#12 Business Hotel in Madison
#15 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Madison South 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor pool & whirpool, business center w/high speed internet open 24 hours, free wireless high speed internet, fitness center open 24 hours, free SuperStart Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Madison South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Madison South Hotel Madison
Super Eight Madison
Madison Super Eight
Madison Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Madison South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.