We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay for night or two at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Madison, WI

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Madison, WI to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Madison, WI
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4830 Hayes Road, Exit 135a, Madison, WI 53704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Lenexa, Kansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for night or two at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

An older hotel that has been kept up with new paint etc. The rooms are clean but you wont find luxury here. And, the rooms are considerably less expensive than nearby hotel rooms. Close in to the state capitol and the University of Wisconsin with a variety of restaurants and shopping nearby. Also, within reasonable distance from the Dane County Airport. Further, although the hotel was filled with guests, the rooms were not noisy offering a good night's sleep. One really great thing is the lack of cigarette smoke and smell in the room. I really appreciated that.

Room Tip: There are no elevators in this property so if you choose a second floor room but prepared to lug you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, WI, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in October. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Madison, WI. We will share your comments with the staff as they always appreciate the positive feedback. Again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope you will choose us again for any of your lodging needs.
Sincerely,

Steve Marsceau
General Manager
Red Roof Inn, Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    9
    7
    17
See reviews for
15
15
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This hotel was a nice surprise after a long drive. The hotel has been recently renovated; rooms are clean and modern. The hotel also accepted the hotel saver coupon we had found at the rest area. After a cross-country road trip it was nice to stay somewhere that was reasonable and clean

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, WI, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us in Madison, WI. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased you liked our renovated property. The staff worked very hard to finish with all the details in the past few weeks. We have received many compliments on the new rooms. Especially the new mattresses. I am glad you found us in the Room Savers book. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are traveling through the Madison, WI area. If we can be of any further assistance, please contact us at the hotel anytime.
Sincerely,
Steve Marsceau
General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

My car was broke into, once I discovered it I ran to front desk asked about a camera they said no and told them what happened. The followinv morning they said I could not get another room cause there was another customer in lobby when I ran in told the front desk. I am sorry but that is crazy, my radio anx cds was stolen and I get kicked out, that'd bullcrap. There are drug dealers and prostitutes there go at your own risk...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, WI, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I'm sorry you experienced such an unfortunate incident. We take safety and security very seriously and work closely with the local authorities to evict guests who may be disruptive to the safe environment our guests expect. I hope you will consider Red Roof again in your trravels and hope we can meet your expectations in the future.
Sincerely,
Steve Marsceau
GM - Red Roof Inn, Madison, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

First class recption, helpful desk staff, clean rooms in a convenient location. This is one of the better Red Roof motels in the inventory, and I've stayed in a bunch of them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, WI, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us in July, at our Madison, WI Red Roof Inn. I will share your comments with the staff. They are always pleased when guests let them know they did a great job. I am pleased to hear your comments about being a better hotel. We have also renovated our rooms since your stay. I hope in your travels you will stop by again and see our new look. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
Steve Marsceau
General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had one night at this hotel.

1. I asked them 4 times to provide us with the most non-smoking unit as we are travelling with kids, but we still got a smoked out unit. I told them about the issue and got a different unit with two times less smoke :)

2. I would rate 1-2 out of 5 the cleanliness of bathroom.

Except these issues, place looks nice/renovated/quiet, and very unexpensive for an average rated hotel.

Room Tip: Take your time to find the less smoked out unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, WI, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our Red Roof Inn of Madison, WI. I am sorry you had a room that the previous guest smoked in. I will share your comments with our housekeeping staff and maintenance to ensure they are reporting these to have them house cleaned before re-renting. We are a smoke free hotel, (WI Law Act 12), and occassionaly guests still smoke in our rooms. Again, I am sorry for this inconvenience. Since your last stay we have renovated the hotel, with all new carpets, drapery, beds, linens. It has made a big impact and has helped with the former smokey rooms. I hope in your future travels to Madison, WI you will give us another try and see our changes.
Sincerely,
Steven Marsceau
General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GERMANTOWN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

In our travels we have never seen this before at a Red Roof, a 3rd party "Menu" card with Red Roof logos on it for "food delivery" ....$3.50 packaging fee plus food plus tip. Hamburger was $9.95.....comes with fries (wonder how warm that would be). There ARE restaurants in the area, NO THANKS to that. Also noted in lobby a computer to use, $3.50 access fee plus 39 cents a minute.....REALLY!!!!. We used our own computer, and hotel Wi-Fi which worked fine. Friendly staff, room clean, need new or cleaned carpet in our room, great location by Interstate....plenty of safe parking. We would return there again, good location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, WI, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Red Roof Inn of Madison, WI. We work with a company called Order Inn, and they provide the menus for our guest rooms and work with local restaurants to supply the delivery service. Several hotels are now using this in the Madison area, and the Restaurant that services our Red Roof is very good. Also, the internet in the lobby is also serviced by an outside company. They allow guests to check in and print boarding passes at the airport complimentary. There is a small charge to use the computer for all other services. You also mentioned we need a carpet upgrade. I am pleased to let you know that we will be starting a renovation in July with new carpets, beds, and linens. The guest rooms will have a great fresh update. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to hosting you for any future lodging needs,
Sincerely
Steve Marsceau
General Manager
Red Roof Inn- Madison, WI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nisswa MN
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This Red Roof was nice, clean and affordable. Very nice place to stay with dogs.

Room Tip: Try for first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevo608, Manager at Red Roof Inn Madison, WI, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn of Madison, WI.
We appreciate your comments, and yes all our rooms are pet friendly. Most of our guests traveling with pets, prefer the first floor and is very convenient with the exterior doors. Again, we appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again for any of your lodging needs.
Sincerely,
Steven Marsceau
Red Roof Inn - Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Madison, WI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Madison, WI

Address: 4830 Hayes Road, Exit 135a, Madison, WI 53704
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Madison, WI 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Madison, WI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Madison

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Madison, WI, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.