We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Madison visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Madison visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed at the Doubletree for a weekend in January. We were there with friends for Wisconsin hockey games. The location is perfect - 2 short blocks to the Kohl Center and easy walking distance to State Street. Everything is well maintained and very clean. All the staff was friendly and polite. We will definitely stay at the Doubletree the next time we go to Madison.

  • Liked — Location, location
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    153
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
153
79
54
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

Great location near UW campus. Nicely remodeled property (a former Howard Johnson's). Staff service excellent. Only minor annoyance was the Amana energy efficiency thermostat system which did not allow the fan to run continuously. Instead, the system rattled on and off, waking me up every time it turned back on to heat the room. Also, apparently a motion detector decides no one is in the room when you are in fact in the room (asleep). Also, like all Doubletrees and Hiltons, the one cup coffee maker is annoying. What happended to the 4 cup pot? Other than that absolutely no complaints. And with few nicer alternatives nearby, recommended despite the noisy heating system.

  • Liked — Excellent staff service and perfectly cleaned room
  • Disliked — Noisy heating system did not allow the fan to run continuously, sleeping was a challenge with the system rattling on and off
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

Whenever I travel for business, I am a little bit cautious when my host outlet chooses the hotel for me, I this case they've done themselves proud. On business, I need the convenience of time. Not that I demand much, but when I need something, I need to be able to get it quickly. At the Doubletree Madison, service is top notch and they anticipate the needs of the business traveller and are most helpful with any request. Full breakfast, lunc and dinner as well as off-hours menus are a standard here even in the slow season when the politicians are on recess. They also provide access to transportation, but everything I need to do was within walking distance. Rooms are nice and spacious with good lighting, a work station and noise was minimal even though this is right downtown. I hope to stay here again.

  • Liked — Most Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

We stayed in the Doubletree for three nights as a base for visiting Madison and the surrounding area. Large, clean, quiet room, very convenient central location and attached car parking, and not expensive compared to the competition. The hotel suited our needs admirably. I would echo the remarks in other reviews about the inexperienced staff (doesn't Doubletree employ anyone under 25?) but all were pleasant and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

Stayed here when I was in Madison for a conference held at the Univ. of Wisconsin. The hotel was a few blocks walk to the meeting location (on campus) also near many good dining places.

It is a clean, well kept hotel. There is an attached parking lot/ramp. The hotel also has an attached dining/drinking establishment.

  • Liked — Helpful staff, clean, convieneint
  • Disliked — Nothing was bad about this hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

We stayed at the hotel one night prior to a Badger football game. The room was clean and check in was quick and easy. The location is close to State St so the car never left the ramp. Great build your own Bloody Mary at restaurant on gameday.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

I stayed at the Doubletree for business, and I was working odd hours. The staff was surprisingly young across the board, but was extremely accommodating and helpful. Everyone from the front desk, to housekeeping, to the restaurant was pleasant and on their "A game." The Badgeralnd Bar and Grill offered good casual dining and the prices weren't outrageous. The location is within easy walking distance of the restaurants and shops on State Street. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi-Award Winning Doubletree Hotel Madison (a Hilton Family Brand) is conveniently located in the heart of downtown (within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants), featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space, an indoor pool/whirlpool with poolside food/beverage service and outdoor patios, 24-hour business center and fitness center, on-site restaurant/lounge (Badgerland Bar & Grill), complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, on-site parking, shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area (within 2 miles), high-definition LCD TVs, and same-day dry cleaning and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.