We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“I could live here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I recently spent two peaceful nights at the Madison Doubletree while visiting the UW Madison campus. We have no complaints- we were treated very well from the time we checked in until we reluctantly checked out. I'm a Hilton Honors Gold member, so the room upgrade and free breakfast were nice perks. The hotel is located on the edge of campus, less than two blocks from the Kohl Center (where hockey and basketball games are played.) We either walked everywhere, or took the free shuttle. Secure parking is free in the attached ramp. State Street is also a short walk away for shopping and restaurants, although there is quite a bit of construction going on around there right now. Our room was clean and quiet, with a view of the Capitol. The beds are very comfortable, and we slept great each night. There's a small fridge/freezer, flat screen tv, coffee maker and microwave in the room. The Badger Bar restaurant on the ground floor was pretty quiet, given the time of the year. Breakfast is starting to be cleared out by 9:45 am, so keep that in mind if you're a late riser. This was our second visit to this hotel in two years, and we have no desire to try a different one in the area. We love it!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Wow! We are absolutely flattered by your fantastic review! Thank You for sharing your experience with us and selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the UW Madison campus. We're so glad you mentioned all of our great amenities and features of our hotel. From our ideal downtown location, to our complimentary shuttle and our award-winning staff, we take pride in ensuring each of our guests' stays are memorable. We're honored that we could make your stay feel like home. Thank You again and Go Badgers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    158
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
160
86
55
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs,CO, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff was awesome in every way. Whoever is training and monitoring is doing a great job. Room curtains should shut off all outside sunlight but leave a crack of light where they meet the wall. Air conditioning is super loud.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Patrick, Thank You for your kind words and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with your family. We appreciate hearing your feedback and agree that our staff is doing a great job at making our property successful! Thank You again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our stay here last weekend was amazing! All of the staff were really nice and very helpful. In one instance I was asking for directions to someplace close and they asked if we would prefer to have the shuttle take us. The hotel was really clean and quiet. My daughter loved the pool and said that it was her favorite part of our visit to Madison. Warm cookies are always an added bonus!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling with your family and for your great review. We recommend our complimentary shuttle to anyone staying with us who would love to experience all Madison has to offer! Plus, our bell staff is great at recommending popular restaurants, as well as local attractions to visit. Our famous cookies help make our you're stay the icing on the cake. Thank You again for taking the time share your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The amenities in the deluxe accommodations make this a great hotel stay. Lovely smelling soap, shampoo, and conditioner are provided in the bathroom. Coffee bean coffee with cream and sugar, 2 bags of salty pretzel treats, and 2 bottles of spring water are complimentary in the room. The icing on the cake is the warm cookie upon check-in and mini local "cowpie" or chocolate pecan turtle candy at evening turn down (service). The hotel restaurant even had healthy dining options for a quick meal after a long day. All the staff was friendly and accommodating. This hotel is a great place for business trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank You for your fantastic review and for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area on business. We are pleased that you pointed out the exact pieces of the puzzle that make our hotel the perfect place to stay while in Madison. Great amenities, award-winning staff, and outstanding service truly set us apart from any other property. Thank You again for your suburb review and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

There was nothing unpleasant about my recent stay at this hotel. The front desk staff was nice enough and the shuttle driver was very accommodating. I also had a yummy warm cookie waiting for me at check-in.

My three-star rating really boils down to some personal preferences.

First, there was no tub in the bathroom. In its place was a shower stall with half a glass door. As a result, water got all over the bathroom floor. I also happen to prefer a hand-held shower to a spout that is only half attached to the wall.

I'm a Hilton Honors member, and I thought that they usually leave a bottle or two of water in your room, but not during this stay.

The A/C unit was unusually loud. I had to continually adjust the volume on the TV so that I could hear it based on whether or not the A/C clicked on.

Finally, the insulation between rooms and the hallway could use some beefing up. I could not hear anything from the parking garage that was practically below my window, but I could hear people whispering in the hallway and someone else using the bathroom in an adjoining room. Not really what you want!

Given other options close by, I don't think I would stay in this particular property again, but it was close to where I needed to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank You for your feedback and for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the city. We are very appreciative that you enjoyed our famous cookie, as well as our staff. We understand every guest of our hotel is different and has a variety of preferences. Due to this, we try to accommodate our guests on every possible level. If someone reserved the room on your behalf, we may not have had your Hilton Honors number and preferences on file and it would be needed during the check-in process. Again, we appreciate your feedback and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The staff was superior! Exceptionally clean facility! The location to nearby events and venues is fantastic. Not having elevator access to the pool did not allow one of our handicapped family members to enjoy that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Darlene, Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling the area with your family. Our award-winning staff is superior and they are the key piece to our success! The downtown location is fantastic for anyone wishing to capture the essence of Madison. Our pool is handicap accessible from an outside door and I do apologize that this was not communicated to you. Again, we Thank You for your feedback and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, MI, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed at Hilton Double Trees in the past and have enjoyed lodging with them. This trip offered the same pleasant experience. I had read some negative reviews of this hotel from previous travelers but did not experience any of their difficulties during my stay. The room was clean upon arrival and was faultlessly cleaned every day. Loved the shower (personally, did not miss the bathtub at all). Although the hotel is somewhat stark in lighting (bright)/decoration (spartan), this did not detract from an enjoyable travel experience. And oh those cookies!!!!!!! Will return here again in two years when the conference I was attending id offered again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Marc, Wow! Your excellent review is great to hear and we Thank You for staying with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison. Our housekeeping department does a great job everyday to ensure that our rooms are faultlessly cleaned. We have received many positive comments about our showers, including yours! We are glad we could make your hotel experience pleasant and we hope to see you again in a couple of years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi-Award Winning Doubletree Hotel Madison (a Hilton Family Brand) is conveniently located in the heart of downtown (within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants), featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space, an indoor pool/whirlpool with poolside food/beverage service and outdoor patios, 24-hour business center and fitness center, on-site restaurant/lounge (Badgerland Bar & Grill), complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, on-site parking, shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area (within 2 miles), high-definition LCD TVs, and same-day dry cleaning and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.