We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Double Tree Madison WI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 63 hotels in Madison
A TripAdvisor Member
“Review of Double Tree Madison WI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place was wonderful to stay at. There was no wait to check in, no problem checking out. The room was very clean and comfortable and the staff was wonderful! This place is right on the UW campus, so getting to my conference was quick and easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting the area for your conference. We are so delighted that our award-winning staff could accommodate you in every way possible. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our amazing downtown location, conveniently located within walking distance to the UW campus, shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants. Thank You again for choosing us and we hope to have the delight of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    318
    130
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
126
72
51
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel is central to the campus and a great place to stay for families visiting their kids at school. The staff is friendly, cookies upon arrival, great service in the restaurant. We have eaten here both for breakfast (nice buffet) and dinner. We watched the Notre Dame game one evening from the restaurant while having dinner and the staff was great in letting us just relax and not rush us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Excellent choice. Reasonably close to the airport. Free airport shuttle. Easy, friendly check in and check out. Clean rooms with comfortable beds. Free Wifi. Nice bar and lounge (closes 11 PM). Room service was fine. Restaurant is nothing fancy but very functional. Good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hello, and Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while visiting for business. We are glad we could make your stay convenient with our complimentary WiFi, airport shuttle and free parking. We are certainly proud of our award-winning staff, who offers such exceptional customer service to our guests! Again, Thank You for selecting us for your stay and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, WI, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed for UW Homecoming weekend. Had a double bed room that connected to a two-room suite so it was really a perfect setup with plenty of room and the suite living room area served as a great place for everyone to hang out. The only negative I would mention is that there isn't a closet in the suite bedroom area ... you have to walk out into the living room area to get your clothes that are hanging up. Definitely an inconvenience. It would also be nice if the suite bedroom area had its own bath but I regress. The beds are fantastic and the location is perfect. I must also mention the EXCELLENT breakfast buffet. I would stop here for the buffet prior to a Badger game even if I wasn't staying at the hotel. Great selection and they kept everything well-stocked. All around a great stay. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while staying for UW Homecoming weekend. We appreciate your kind review and will be sure to pass it along to our team. We are also glad you enjoyed our perfect downtown location for UW events, as well as our spacious guest rooms, and our very own Badgerland Bar & Grill. We hope to see you again next year and Go Badgers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

hotel service, food and conference room set up right on. all conference room requirements were available and working where stated they would be available. staff friendly and helpful. sleep room was comfortable and the food was tasty and the restaurant atmosphere was enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank You for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison for hosting your conference. We will certainly be sharing your positive feedback and kind words with our team. We are glad our spacious guest rooms, our fantastic food, and our award-winning team could provide you with such an enjoyable atmosphere while on your stay. Again, Thank You for booking your conference with us, we hope to have the privilege of hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree during Homecoming Weekend. When we checked in we were offered warm chocolate cookies. Since we are both on diets, I turned it down. The front desk person offered me fruit instead, which was a very nice surprise. They delivered the fruit to us shortly after we checked in. Room is comfortable and clean. Breakfast, which was covered with our Diamond status, was very good. You can eat from the buffet and order eggs made to order. Prices were a bit high given it was Homecoming weekend, but overall it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
To one of our wonderful loyal Diamond members, Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison while visiting over UW Homecoming Weekend! We are glad our award-winning staff could cater to your needs and provide you with exceptional service. We are also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, with a variety of hot breakfast food and cooked to order eggs. Thank You again for choosing the DoubleTree, we hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The best thing about this Doubletree is the shuttle and its charming drivers. In Madison for a wedding, we were completely misinformed by the front desk about when the last shuttle would be leaving, and a very unhelpful and rude lady in charge of the front desk almost ruined our chances of getting to the wedding on time. Fortunately the shuttle driver helped us out. Another kind shuttle driver also kindly gave as an impromptu tour of the Capitol and farmer's market en route to a lunch spot.

The rooms at the Doubletree in Madison are considerably inferior to the ones at the Doubletree in Burlington, VT, where we stayed in August when Delta put us up there because of a cancelled flight. I was surprised at how expensive the Madison Doubletree is. We stayed at The James in Chicago -- a much fancier hotel -- for about $30 more a night than the Doubletree's discounted group rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank You for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison while visiting over the weekend for a wedding. We are happy you enjoyed our complementary shuttle and our wonderful drivers. I am quite sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with one of our staff members. This is very atypical of our property and I will be sure to address this with our staff immediately. We hope that you will continue to choose DoubleTree by Hilton in the coming years for your leisure travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi-Award Winning Doubletree Hotel Madison (a Hilton Family Brand) is conveniently located in the heart of downtown (within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants), featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space, an indoor pool/whirlpool with poolside food/beverage service and outdoor patios, 24-hour business center and fitness center, on-site restaurant/lounge (Badgerland Bar & Grill), complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, on-site parking, shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area (within 2 miles), high-definition LCD TVs, and same-day dry cleaning and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.