We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Madison” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 63 Hotels in Madison
1 review
“Great Place to Stay in Madison”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff is friendly and get you checked in fast. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The room was quiet and I was able to get my work done and enjoy an in room meal. I would recommend the Doubletree Hilton hotel to friends and business associates.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for selecting the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while traveling on business and for the great feedback. We are very pleased you had a wonderful stay, and that you especially enjoyed the service provided by our Front Desk Agents, our clean and spacious guest rooms, and most importantly, the fact that you were able to be productive on your business trip, yet still enjoy the amenities our hotel offers. Thank you again for the great review – we will be sure to share your experience with the rest of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    153
    33
    14
    7
See reviews for
153
79
54
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel has everything you need!! The rooms are very nice and the beds are comfortable. The staff at this hotel is wonderful and the shuttle drivers are the best. Everyone was so nice to us during our stay and so accommodating. The location is great, too, a short walk to other
restaurants and State St. Great breakfast buffet. We stayed here for a week as my husband had heart surgery at Meriter hospital and I felt very safe when I was alone. Would definetly recommend staying here to family and friends and would stay here again if we are in Madison!!

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Rewards program, ask for a higher level room, even numbered rooms have a good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the glowing review! We truly appreciate the wonderful feedback and are so pleased you selected the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison for your weeklong stay while your husband underwent heart surgery at Meriter Hospital. We hope his surgery was a huge success and that he has a speedy recovery. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope you will stay with us again during your next trip to Madison – hopefully next time the visit will be for pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If your traveling to or through Madison, don't go anywhere else - STAY at the Madison - DoubleTree! I can not say enough good about this wonderful Hotel! The Staff is by far the most friendly and appreciative that I have come across, I felt like they knew me and treated me like family. There are a lot of really nice personal touches extend to their guests. The food is really good, and the Breakfast buffet is better than most hotels and by far the best I have ever had at any other DoubleTree, in addition you will get treated like a valued customer at the restaurant, breakfast area and Bar, rather than just a task like at most hotels. The hotel is clean, well maintained and in a great location, close to lots on small local restaurants and bars. This is really nice if you like to experience the local fair and be part of the community. If you are looking for a great Hotel in a great Location, with a great Staff, and a great price - Then look no further then the DoubleTree - Madison, W! - I would not say anywhere else! This Hotel is well suited for business travelers, family's, and vacation stays! I hope you enjoy this Hotel as much as I did!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Well appointed room. We appreciated having two reading chairs, an ottoman and a reading lamp so no need to negotiate who gets what. The free shuttle was a bonus for us on a snowy night. We saved the chocolate chip cookies to eat on the road the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for choosing to stay with us while in town. We are very happy that you enjoyed your guest room and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service during a snowy night. We know how convenient that can be especially when you are in a new city and have to deal with snowy conditions. Thank you again for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison - we look forward to your next stay with us, and we will be sure to welcome you with our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2013 while in town to attend a UW hockey game at the Kohl Center and you can't beat the location - a short 2 block walk to the game. Plenty of parking and lots of restaurants are a short walk away. Stayed in a 2-room suite and it was very large. We stayed on a Saturday night and the complimentary brunch the following day was excellent. Only negative thing to note is the size of the elevators. Because it was a hockey weekend the place was full and the elevators only hold about 5 people comfortably so we waited quite a while to get from the parking garage to our room several times because the elevator was full each time it stopped on our level. Wouldn't stop me from staying here again though. Nice room, clean, good option if you're in town for an event at the Kohl Center. GO BADGERS!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the wonderful review! Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while in town attending a Badger hockey game at the Kohl Center – we agree that we have the best location for those attending events at the Kohl Center. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our spacious two-room suite and our delicious and expansive hot breakfast buffet served in our on-site restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill. We apologize for your experience with our elevators as we know how frustrating that can be during your stay. We are currently working on a solution to improve the situation, but in the meantime, we thank you for your patience. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again for another Badger event. GO BADGERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel is a great experience. Front desk exceptionally friendly and polite. Well appointed, clean rooms. Right on the edge of campus, but not an easy walking distance to capitol square/business district.

Restaurant service is good but food is fairly mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while in town and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are very happy to hear that your most recent stay was a great experience, and that you especially enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and the service our Front Desk Team provided. We will be sure to share your wonderful feedback with our Front Desk Team – we are very pleased they provided you with the great customer service we are known for. Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My stay at the Double Tree was excellent. The rooms, halls, lobby was clean, smelled fresh. The workout facility was good. The restaurant had great food and wonderful service. The staff treated me like I was an important guest and I had a great night sleep. Location was close to downtown, hospital and university.I will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are very happy to hear that your business stay from check-in to check-out was excellent as it is our goal to exceed each of our guest’s expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, and we hope to serve you again in the near future. We will be sure to have a DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi-Award Winning Doubletree Hotel Madison (a Hilton Family Brand) is conveniently located in the heart of downtown (within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants), featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space, an indoor pool/whirlpool with poolside food/beverage service and outdoor patios, 24-hour business center and fitness center, on-site restaurant/lounge (Badgerland Bar & Grill), complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, on-site parking, shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area (within 2 miles), high-definition LCD TVs, and same-day dry cleaning and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.