We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and Save 20%
Ranked #5 of 63 hotels in Madison
Toronto
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Well appointed room. We appreciated having two reading chairs, an ottoman and a reading lamp so no need to negotiate who gets what. The free shuttle was a bonus for us on a snowy night. We saved the chocolate chip cookies to eat on the road the next day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for choosing to stay with us while in town. We are very happy that you enjoyed your guest room and that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service during a snowy night. We know how convenient that can be especially when you are in a new city and have to deal with snowy conditions. Thank you again for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison - we look forward to your next stay with us, and we will be sure to welcome you with our delicious DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    137
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
133
73
52
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here in Feb 2013 while in town to attend a UW hockey game at the Kohl Center and you can't beat the location - a short 2 block walk to the game. Plenty of parking and lots of restaurants are a short walk away. Stayed in a 2-room suite and it was very large. We stayed on a Saturday night and the complimentary brunch the following day was excellent. Only negative thing to note is the size of the elevators. Because it was a hockey weekend the place was full and the elevators only hold about 5 people comfortably so we waited quite a while to get from the parking garage to our room several times because the elevator was full each time it stopped on our level. Wouldn't stop me from staying here again though. Nice room, clean, good option if you're in town for an event at the Kohl Center. GO BADGERS!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the wonderful review! Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while in town attending a Badger hockey game at the Kohl Center – we agree that we have the best location for those attending events at the Kohl Center. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our spacious two-room suite and our delicious and expansive hot breakfast buffet served in our on-site restaurant, the Badgerland Bar & Grill. We apologize for your experience with our elevators as we know how frustrating that can be during your stay. We are currently working on a solution to improve the situation, but in the meantime, we thank you for your patience. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again for another Badger event. GO BADGERS!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel is a great experience. Front desk exceptionally friendly and polite. Well appointed, clean rooms. Right on the edge of campus, but not an easy walking distance to capitol square/business district.

Restaurant service is good but food is fairly mediocre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while in town and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are very happy to hear that your most recent stay was a great experience, and that you especially enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and the service our Front Desk Team provided. We will be sure to share your wonderful feedback with our Front Desk Team – we are very pleased they provided you with the great customer service we are known for. Thank you again for taking the time to review your experience, and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My stay at the Double Tree was excellent. The rooms, halls, lobby was clean, smelled fresh. The workout facility was good. The restaurant had great food and wonderful service. The staff treated me like I was an important guest and I had a great night sleep. Location was close to downtown, hospital and university.I will stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are very happy to hear that your business stay from check-in to check-out was excellent as it is our goal to exceed each of our guest’s expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers, and we hope to serve you again in the near future. We will be sure to have a DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stayed here for business and it was a good experience. The hotel is located in a convenient location and offer free parking at a downtown property. There are lots of restaurants nearby and they are open late. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison with other travelers. We are pleased that you had a great business stay with us, and it’s wonderful to hear that you especially enjoyed our convenient downtown location (including complimentary parking), within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison, and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Location is great: right on campus, close to business school, close to State Street

Rooms are clean, workout facility is good

Food options are limited to traditional American hotel choices, i would recommend eating at a restaurant near to the hotel

Price is a little more than other options, but you get what you pay for. I have also noticed that this hotel is quick to increase prices on busy weekends.

One note: if you bring a car, make sure that you get a token from the front desk before exiting. You need a token to open the gate to leave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We are pleased you had a great stay with us while traveling on business, and are happy to hear that you particularly enjoyed our convenient downtown location, our newly renovated guest rooms, and our 24-hour complimentary fitness center. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us as we know you have several options in the downtown area, and we hope you will stay with us again in the future – hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Every person on the staff I encountered treated me like I was their only guest. Best service I've had anywhere. I felt like I was home, with the personal attention I received, rather than in a moderately large hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeMadisonGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review! It makes our day to hear that you had an amazing experience with us, and that because of the personal level of attention you received, you felt like you were home, which is our goal we hope to achieve with every single guest. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Madison while in town, and we hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison

Address: 525 West Johnson Street, Madison, WI 53703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Madison
#5 Family Hotel in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Multi-Award Winning Doubletree Hotel Madison (a Hilton Family Brand) is conveniently located in the heart of downtown (within walking distance to shopping, entertainment and over 100 restaurants), featuring over 5,000 square feet of meeting space, an indoor pool/whirlpool with poolside food/beverage service and outdoor patios, 24-hour business center and fitness center, on-site restaurant/lounge (Badgerland Bar & Grill), complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, on-site parking, shuttle service to/from the airport and surrounding area (within 2 miles), high-definition LCD TVs, and same-day dry cleaning and laundry service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Madison
Madison Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Madison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.